Sign in to follow this  
Guest CAL737

Virtual Airlines Question

Guest CAL737

To all,I have been flying in FS for many years but the one thing I've never truly understood is virtual airlines. Could someone explain to me the VA concept as I'm interested in VA's? Also if someone could give me some suggestions of some VA as I find them difficult to find. I'm interested in American and Pacific based VA's, but all suggestions are welcome. All input is appreciated!:-)Thanks to all,Travis

G'Day TravisA VA is basicly a a group of people that act as a real airline, but in Flightsim. If you are a pilot for a VA eg Virgin Blue, you would fly like the real airline (the same flights as in real life). You fly the same aircraft as the real airline, and comply with the real airlines rules and regulations. At the end of each flight, you complete a flight report like the real airline. Basicly your a pilot flying for an airline but in FS rather than the real world.Not all airlines are based on a real airline. Many are just made up by people and they make their own flight schedules etc.Hope this is understandable. Any more questions please ask.

Cheers,
Ryan

Professional Coffee Drinker/BAe146 Driver
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer

Guest Pilot3033

I like to also think of VA's as a community of people as well. A group of people who you will become friends with, fly with, and have fun with. There are a lot of VA's out there that are on a fly only basis. If you decide to embrace a VA, then make sure it is the right one fore you, good fleet, nice cities, and the community is to your likeing. Some VA's are strict, some are not. Also, there are a lot of VAs on places like VATSIM. Online, with a real person acting as your ATC. www.vatsim.net if your interested. I think it's worth getting into, it will make your flight sim experiance so much more real.-Matt

Guest Pilot3033