Sign in to follow this  
Guest zanther0

server choice

Guest zanther0

I'm new to VATSIM but not to flight siming in general. Finally got around to install SB and had my first two flights today, lots of fun but not as many ATC as I would espect. I'm sure it's the time of day I was logged. Anyway my question is does it matter what server you log on to? Meaning that if you log on to any server you should still have access to every area you fly to correct? In other words VATSIM is one big united community no matter what server you log onto?Zan

Largely, yes, you can log onto any server. The one closest to your geographic location usually provides the best results.Kyle

When you say log onto the one closest to your Geographical point do you mean Physical or Virtual. For example I live in the UK but want to fly in the states. Do I log on to UK or the USA servers. I know this might sound stupid but I am a Newbie to this.

Hi,Log on to the one closest to you physically! If you have ServInfo you can ping all available servers and the one with fastest response and fewest users are usually the best choice.Hope it helps,

ServerInfo is one of the best things to every happen to on line flying.When you learn more about it you will be amazed at what it can do for you, how I ever flew on line without it I will never know :-)Thank you Michael.