Sign in to follow this  
JonBuck

Instant Scenery problem. I don't understand how to....

I'm a newbie learning how to work with scenery in FS2004. Am used to adding and deleting scenery objects in MS Train Sim, but the Flight Sim is quite different. I'm trying to add something to my home base airport as it came with the basic MSFS using the Instant Scenery addon program. But,I must be doing something wrong, or have missed a step or just don't understand how to work wth IS. Here's where I get stuck in the process of adding an object:I can pick out an object that I want to add to an airport,(tree or bldg from the RWY 12 collection of objects downlowded and installed succesfully a couple of days ago) and move it to where I want it to be. Then I click on "Add Object" and it asks me if I want to add this object to such and such a scenery library. Here's where I run into a wall. I thought it would ask me if I would like to add the object to the airport I'm working on. Nope! So I turn back to the IS tutorial which says since I'm adding for the first time I have to enter the name of a scenery file I want to add the object to. I have no idea what that should be. Guess I don't understand the concept of scenery libraries and active files for a start. If I go ahead and click 'yes' anyway on the scenery library name that shows up in the window, I end up with a 'no can do' message and something else about IS can only add or delete objects from sceneries which have been created by IS. Well, Now I'm really confused. What does that mean? I'm definately missing something in this process! I've now got a tree just sitting there blinking at me and no clue of where to turn! I can't even get rid of the tree!! Frustration is running rampant about now!Can anyone shed some light on this mess and perhaps guide me through the proper steps from the "click on Add Object button"? I could definately use one of those "EASY" buttons from Staples right now!JonB :-hmmm