Sign in to follow this  
Guest BeaverDriver

Kudos/Praise In Order

Guest BeaverDriver

OK, it's time to give some credit here. Carenado has just released the bush versions of the Cessna 185. As someone who has been wanting a GOOD Cessna 185 since the days of FS98, and as someone who flew the machine in real world bush operations in northern Canada for a number of years on floats and wheel/skis, I know how important the Carenado machine is to the FS bush world. The visual modelling is nothing short of spectacular, and when I "sit" in this virtual model, it gives me a very familiar feeling. In fact, in the hangar where I currently work as an Avionics Technician, we have a 185 amphib having a glass cockpit installed currently. I was sitting in the machine just yesterday, and it looked very, very much like what it does as I sit in the Carenado virtual model.Beyond that though, is Carenado's supreme desire to bring you the best package, not just the visual model, possible. When the wheeled version of the 185 was first released, I found it to have some significant issues. Carenado could easily have let my email to them slide, as the model was released, and not that many people in FS-Land had actual time in the airplane anyway, so they wouldn't notice the difference. They didn't accept the easy way out though, and gave its blessings to Bernt (a VERY experienced aircraft FDE designer) and myself (with the real world time but not the expertise in building) to see what we could do. I'm happy to say that the results (thanks to Bernt) were very successful, and those patches were made available through Carenado to all who had the wheeled version. In addition, those files were used as the base files for the bush versions that have been released today, of which we had input on the minor adjustments to those, allowing for the different configurations. Carenado paid great attention to the details, even the minute adjustments that I sent their way that likely many people wouldn't ev