June 19, 201015 yr Well, we know from recent discussions that standards on the internet are a bit like the sliders in FSX; some people don't have the moral hardware to move them all the way to the Buddha-like settings over on the right, and choose to move them to the left LOLAlThat brought a smile to my face. In what seems the fairest and quickest course of action, I've updated my webpage to read:Links to download of my file have been removed due to copyright violations. Spirapaint! is still available on most popular download sites or can be obtained by sending an email to my email address listed below. I apologize for the inconvenience.
June 19, 201015 yr I checked to see who the host for the website was and it is 1&1 Internet Spain. I also checked to see who was hosting the download and it is found at: http://members.cox.net/cactus521/SpiraPaint!.zip Here is the relevant Whois for the company you found linking to it. It appears that the $1.50 cost is for a code to download faster than those who wait in line do. There is another link under that that pops open a window that tells you that your download from the cactus521 page will start in 5 seconds. Supporter GhostRecon.net | AGgReSsion WhiteKnight77's Place Mike Shannon
June 20, 201015 yr Here's a question. Suppose I had already paid my $1.50 when I downloaded some other software from this site. Then I saw Spirapaint and clicked to download it. I got it fast and free. Is this the same problem? As per the EULA no funds were solicited for Spirapaint. I'm not trying to be difficult, just trying to understand.Bob Bob i5, 16 GB ram, GTX 960, FS on SSD, Windows 10 64 bit, home built works anyway.
June 20, 201015 yr Here's a question. Suppose I had already paid my $1.50 when I downloaded some other software from this site. Then I saw Spirapaint and clicked to download it. I got it fast and free. Is this the same problem? As per the EULA no funds were solicited for Spirapaint. I'm not trying to be difficult, just trying to understand.BobNo use explaining it. The $1.50 fee on the same page as the Spirapaint download is a solicitation. To add insult to injury, this site is not hosting my file. They have a solicitation on a page showing my program in order to provide a no wait download to my own website. People like this are bottom feeders. 'Nuff said(Edit: I should mention I am not upset with you Bob for those reading this forum--you've exchanged PM's with me and you are a very classy gentleman. I guess I just don't understand the various perceptions people might have on this issue).
June 20, 201015 yr My question presupposed that if I had already paid the fee that the pop up to pay again would not show up. In that case is there a solicitation? I fully respect your position, which is why I feel I can ask what I'm sure to you is a pointless question.Bob Bob i5, 16 GB ram, GTX 960, FS on SSD, Windows 10 64 bit, home built works anyway.
June 20, 201015 yr My question presupposed that if I had already paid the fee that the pop up to pay again would not show up. In that case is there a solicitation? I fully respect your position, which is why I feel I can ask what I'm sure to you is a pointless question.BobThe way I understand the fee is a someone will always see the solicitation for the $1.50 whether they've paid or not--they need to always enter their code to unlock the "faster" download. I would suppose someone who has texted the number would be able to use the same code over and over. My take is regardless, my software license (and no doubt those of many of the other files he links to) prohibits charging for any reason, profit or non-profit. I own the copyright, I have the right to dictate those terms. If a downloader is attracted to the site because they are looking for a program that designs spirographs and has never paid the site money before, they may be suckered into believing that paying the fee offers some type of special, fast access to my file. The guy is selling my bandwidth and that of countless others. Period.Whether the downloader is looking for software that makes spirographs, emits a hum that puts one in a trance like state, or predicts the awful call made against the U.S. soccer team at the world cup, the site is using our software to gain revenue. I don't care if the guy is only charging a cent--he does not have the right to dictate how an author's software is used, or that it can have strings attached to it. Only we can.The irony is had he asked permission I might have said "OK, I needed a buck once". But he didn't. As Jar Jar Binks said "How wude!" :( -John
June 20, 201015 yr Note to Mods: Please delete or lock this thread. After some soul searching, I feel my view on this and my comments regarding the site that linked to my software are wrong. I am not condoning what they did, but it is not a very worthy trait to approach the subject with anger. Perhaps all of us should forgive a little bit more sometimes, and forget. I am going to restore my webpage and download link to the way it was.Regards,John
June 20, 201015 yr I see no reason to delete or lock anything. In my view, any topic that is discussed in a sane manner should be fine. Again, I am not trying to be difficult, just trying to see how your EULA works.Bob Bob i5, 16 GB ram, GTX 960, FS on SSD, Windows 10 64 bit, home built works anyway.
Create an account or sign in to comment