Sign in to follow this  
machie

engines quit after takeoff

Hi All,

My engines quit about 3 to 5 min after takeoff---I am new to this aircraft in FSX---I bought a number of copies over the years but never really learned the aircraft--where, for instance is the manual or some tutorials---going to learn the airplane and use in in my virtual airline Historical section---I want to fly for Aloha and Hawaiian---someplace I flew extensively in real life back in the 1970's

Hi Machie

Second question first, which may help with the first  - get all the manuals and instructional videos from our Free Stuff Pages

You don't mention which of our three aircraft you are talking about, but the plural engines narrows it slightly and it would be a bit strange if you flew a Mitchell for Hawaiian AL, so my Holmes like intellect leads me to surmise we are talking about the Douglas. :rolleyes:

In any case, as you will find when you consult all the goodies you'll download from the aforementioned FSPs, you must fly the plane with proper throttle, mixture and prop settings or, just as in the real thing, bad things will happen.  Our flight models are designed to replicate actual aircraft performance to the point where you can and must fly them "to the numbers" found in the real aircraft manuals.  Incidentally, despite newer and bigger FS designers slick ad slogans, MAAM-SIM was the first to do this, way back in 1999!

Even without going to school with the instructional downloads, you can pull up your plane's kneeboard reference pages from the FSX menu and adhere to the maximum numbers for the various phases of your flight.

Aloha and happy flying!

Bill Rambow

MAAM-SIM

www.maam.org

Don't know if this has anything to do with your problem or not, but it want cost anything to give it a try.