Sign in to follow this  
Von Target

It's very difficult to get back to Civil sims....

I've been "lurking" around, looking for the news on both FSX and X-Plane platforms.

I have given up using both for quite a while now. P3Dv2 was my last Civil sim, but I returned it in time to get the refund and invest on yet another Combat Flight Simulator - Rise of Flight.

I was initially very renitent about using combat flightsims. I don't ( didn't ) like the concept, DCS was my first incursion in that territory, mainly due to the need to find a good prop flight

dynamics model like the one available for their P51d, now also T51d, and then came the helicopters, which are also superbly modeled on that platform. But DCS is too complex for me,

specially when it comes to modern air war, and I always end up using it just for a short local flight in any of the aircraft. Even got FC3, but didn't play it yet...

Meanwhile, someone offered me IL2 Battle of Stalingrad, and I started playing it some 4 months ago. It is now my main flightsim. I spend almost all of my simming time in air duels on IL2 BoS.

About a month ago I also got Rise of Flight, after years running away from the evidence that it was a great WW1 sim. I confess I didn't have the time to study it yet, but the few missions I

have already ( tried ) to fly were the confirmation of yet another Superb flight simulator, in all aspects.

So, from FSX, ELITE and X-plane 10, I fully transitioned to DCS World, IL2 BoS and RoF, and... as I look back I do not miss:

- the immersion that any of those civil sims used to provide me with. Yes some add-ons can make either fsx/p3d or X-plane great, but heck, the experience of the "living" World simulated

in the Combat flight simulators I am using, either AI or human opponents in online sessions is simply AMAZING!