Benjamin J

What will benefit P3D more? A good GPU, or CPU?

Hey all,

With the release of P3Dv4, I'm considering up[grading my system a little. However, that system is a laptop - one that is already 3 years old. The laptop is a Apple MacBook Pro from Mid-2014.

Of course: the best thing to do would be to buy a new desktop with high specs. The problem is that I'm only a graduate student, and so (1) I have no money for such a specced-out desktop (it looks like I'd be shelling out at least 2000$), (2) transporting the machine would be cumbersome once I hit graduation in another 3 years or so, (3) I'm not even sure I have space to put it anywhere, and (4) I have no money.

The basic specs of my laptop (full specs here):

• 2.5GHz Core i7 (I7-4870HQ)
  • 16GB DDR3L SDRAM
  • GeForce GT 750M with 2GB GDDR5 VRAM
  • Running both macOS and Windows 10
  • P3D installed on an external Samsung 512GB SSD, connected through USB 3.0 with the laptop.

The machine works absolutely fine and so I have no reason (or money) to replace it. Also P3Dv3 works okay on lower settings, but the fact is I would like it to do a little more than it's doing right now. I surely won't be able to pull off all the wonderful things I see posted on the forums here, but I'm not really looking for that anyway, necessarily. However, I was thinking of trying to squeeze a little more simming performance out of my laptop, to see if I can drag it on just a few years longer.

Which is why I come here now. My question is simple: given the fact that upgrading the CPU is impossible, will I see substantial benefit of upgrading the GPU? I have read online people using an external GPU ("eGPU") with some success, and would consider doing that if it would result in substantially better frame rates. It would also be much cheaper than getting an all-new desktop, and I'd probably be able to repurpose the eGPU for future laptops or desktops I buy.

Your opinions are very much appreciated!

Benjamin