Sign in to follow this  
montanasimmer

Nose wheel veers left on take off XP11 - IT"S NOT TORQUE

First, I've been simming for 20 years.  I flew the original PMDG 757 in Fly2k and have their NGX and 777 planes in FSX.  I've flown a 777 simulator and landed the bird three times, once in a 20 knot crosswind.  I've flown 10 hours in a Cessna, learning how to manage torque on take off. 

My problem is when I load up X-Plane with the default 737, as soon as I add power, the plane veers left.  I went to external view.  As soon as I add power, the nosewheel goes left.  Big time.  It only responds to toe brakes, yes, that's right.  You hit the toe brakes, and the nose wheel turns. 

I have Saitek pedals.  They are working correctly.  I've calibrated them in win 10 with small null zones.  They are properly assigned in XP11.  No matter what I do in the useless control sensitivities panel (one of the biggest regressions in the sim) nothing changes. 

Any thoughts?   I want to like this sim.  Really.  But the ground handling of aircraft is terrible. Really terrible. 

Thanks.

Colin Ware  - MIssoula

First of all, make sure that the wind is set to zero so that it does not influence any veering tendency. Then, can you confirm that the nosewheel turns as you move the throttle axis? That looks like a control mis-assignment. Try shutting off all the engines and check again. Does the nosewheel turn when moving the throttle?

"The problem with quotes on the Internet is that it is hard to verify their authenticity." [Abraham Lincoln]

Problem solved - there is a nose wheel steering toggle buried deep in the control settings.  Now mapped to a button. Plane actually is starting to handle on the ground like it's supposed to.

On 8/27/2017 at 8:31 PM, montanasimmer said:

Problem solved - there is a nose wheel steering toggle buried deep in the control settings.  Now mapped to a button. Plane actually is starting to handle on the ground like it's supposed to.