I am new to repainting in X-Plane, but have been repainting in the FS series for years. With many FS and P3d paints, you have a .SPEC file that allows you to apply specular effects. These are very common with many of the Carenado variants. Now, I am trying to do a paint in XP-11 that would, if I was in FS/P3d, use the .spec files for a specific highlight color. How are these effects handled in XP with the .PNG files?

Kerry W. Gipe
Savannah Georgia, USA
US FAA A&P / Commercial Pilot Multi Engine Land IFR

Your talent is a gift from God. How you use your talent is your gift back to God.

There are no specular-files in XP
We have a diffuse file wich holds the "texture" of the plane. PBG or DDS without alpha.

Besides that we have normal files ( aka bumpmaps in FSX ) PNG with alpha.
PBR effects ( gloss/materials)  are regulated by this normal-file.

See the FAQ for a bit more information about normals and how they work.

forumlogopaintmod.png

"Non licet omnibus volare cum aquilis" (Azzurro)

Visit Flybike-Paints

Thank you. I read the FAQ last night, but it didn't mention .SPEC  type files specifically. I suspected that the effect would need to be accomplished through the "Normals", but I wasn't certain. I read how the Normals can be used to simulate polished metal, but can you produce the same type of color highlights in XP-11 using Normals as you can in the FS series through the use of a .spec file?

Kerry W. Gipe
Savannah Georgia, USA
US FAA A&P / Commercial Pilot Multi Engine Land IFR

Your talent is a gift from God. How you use your talent is your gift back to God.

The answer is a simple NO.
BUT , the Physically-Based Rendering XP11 uses in combination with its real-time-reflectiveness give great ( possibly beter) results anyways.
The only file on wich we can work with colors is the diffuse.png.
In the normal and its alpha-channel we can control how the surface behaves and we can influence colors by the level of reflectiveness to a certain level.