Sign in to follow this  
twister1853

PMDG 737 Freeze Solution

Hi,

I have in the past posted queries about PMDG 737 Freezes.  I've just now seen a post of a few years ago suggesting adding a line to the fsx.cfg file to help with PMDG 777 freezes.  the suggestion is adding  a line VideoMemoryOverride=536870912 to the section [DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770.0] .  Could I use this extra line in my fsx.cfg file to help with freezing when flying the 737 aircraft?  The section in my fsx.cfg appears as

[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770.0]
Mode=1920x1080x32
Anisotropic=1
AntiAlias=1

Where do these nine digits in the line come from and is it OK to put the extra line in?   Does the extra line  "VideoMemoryOverride=536870912" suit my NVIDIA device?

I'm a bit of a novice with all this so any help would be appreciated.

Ray

Jim Young | AVSIM Online! - Simming's Premier Resource!

Member, AVSIM Board of Directors - Serving AVSIM since 2001

Submit News to AVSIM
Important other links: Basic FSX Configuration Guide | AVSIM CTD Guide | AVSIM Prepar3D Guide | Help with AVSIM Site | Signature Rules | Screen Shot Rule | AVSIM Terms of Service (ToS)

I7 8086K  5.0GHz | GTX 1080 TI OC Edition | Dell 34" and 24" Monitors | ASUS Maximus X Hero MB Z370 | Samsung M.2 NVMe 500GB and 1TB | Samsung SSD 500GB x2 | Toshiba HDD 1TB | WDC HDD 1TB | Corsair H115i Pro | 16GB DDR4 3600C17 | Windows 10 

Thanks Jim for the link.  A very technical link indeed (way out of my depth).  After much discussion the end result seemed to be: 

Conclusion:
Forget VideoMemoryOverride !

But if I were to try VideoMemoryOverride, do I have to calculate the number (I have 8 GB mem') ?  If so, how to calculate the number?  Then with a number, is it sufficient to put a line in and out, willy nilly?  Forgive me if I haven't a clue what I'm taking about!