Sign in to follow this  
petz_e

How could I have handeled this situation better?

Hi,

I'm still learning. While I know that P2A is mostly for IFR flights, I use it pretty often for VFR too. Basic class D to class D airfield with or without flight following works pretty well. However, when dealing with approach controllers, crazy things happen, even when I shadow guys on YouTube, as for example Mike Fletcher.

This is a transcript of my latest VFR flight from KASH to KBOS. Can somebody give me some hints at what went wrong in my communication?

(+): Me, (-): ATC

+ NASHUA Ground N4131C;
- N4131C This is Ground go ahead.
+ N4131C Request Taxi;  for V F R Departure A SOS [to the south];
- N4131C Taxi to Runway Three Two Via taxiways Alpha,  Hold Short Runway Three Two Contact Tower on One Three Three Point Two
+ Tower on One Three Three Point Two N4131C;

=> Is that usual procedure they give me taxi instructions and tower freq. in one sentence? The ground controller is pretty persistent too. If I don't switch to tower immediately, he keeps reminding me what the tower freq. is.

+ NASHUA Tower N4131C Ready for Departure Runway Three Two;
- N4131C Advise when ready for departure. <= Oookay? But then immediately...
- N4131C Squawk One Two Zero Zero Altimeter Two Niner Eight Seven Whinds are calm  Cleared for takeoff, Runway Three Two
+ Cleared for takeoff Runway Three Two N4131C ;

- N4131C have a good one , frequency change approved.
+ Frequency Change Approved for N4131C ;
- N4131C. Frequency change approved. Report when back on Frequency <= Ok, I got it the first time. So, no readback needed?

+ BOSTON Approach N4131C ;
- N4131C This is Approach go ahead.
+ BOSTON Approach N4131C standby Yes NORFOLK;  Two Thousand Eighty Local Destination of N Bravo S Yes;

Let's try this again 🙂
+ N4131C Ten Miles North At Two Thousand Feet request permission to enter Bravo airspace;
- N4131C Clear to enter MASSPORT Bravo airspace
+ cleared to Bravo airspace for N4131C ;