Sign in to follow this  
Guest blsfly214

I want to make a career move in to airport management. Any suggestions?

After some soul searching, I have decided that I might need to make a career change of sorts.A couple years ago, I graduated with a BA in Political Science from the University of Michigan. While I was in school, I always planned to move to DC. I ended up interning in DC and I spent 6 months there working for an grassroots organization. The problem was that I met a woman, who I am now married to, my last semester in school. She is in Law School here in Detroit so I had to move back. Since my area of expertise (I use that term very loosely) is foreign affairs, there are not many jobs here in Detroit in that industry.I thought about going back in to sales but I really don't think I will be happy. I accumulated 10 years of experience in B2B sales/customer service/management prior to going back to college. Since my wife will be an attorney in the next two years, I really want something that I will enjoy. I want a career, not just a job.Even before I thought about a aviation related career, I considered going back to school to get a Masters in Public Administration. The more I think about it, I really want my career to be in Airport Management since it is related to public administration but it focuses on my true passion: aviation. Ideally, I would love to be a FBO GM at some point. At this point, I would be very happy servicing clients at an FBO just to get in the door. When I worked in DC, I had an opportunity to fly a Lear 55 a couple times and I really enjoyed working with the people at the various FBO's that we visited.So, now to the question. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to go about it? Do I need to get a Masters degree first or are there opportunities available for people with my background? Are there any websites that you think would be helpful? Or better yet, does anybody know of an open position that I would be qualified for in the Detro