Sign in to follow this  
Starlifter60

Upgrading Options For A Generic PC

Hello all,

I've been using a relatively modest generic PC for 4-5 years now and I'd like to get some opinions on the viability of a component upgrade vs a new system. I run MSFS with mostly high settings and fairly decent performance (using PMDG 737, add on airports, etc..) but I feel the visual quality is lacking. I'm okay with the 25-30 FPS I get but everything looks not nearly as sharp as what others post on these forums. Would like to get some expert input....

i7 7700 @3.6Ghz
16G RAM with two open slots
Generic 1070 card w/8G
MSI Bazooka MS-7A70 mobo that can't be overclocked
HP 27" Monitor...budget special

Would a newer generation video card work on this board? Would I also need to upgrade to more RAM? Would any of this be worth the effort or would a new system be a better way to go (other than the expense)?

Thanks in advance!

Brian

Edited by Starlifter60
New Info

Brian MacMillan

Intel i7-7700@3.6GHz-16GB /GTX 1070-8GB/MSI B250M Bazooka  

You can get away with 16 GB RAM, although 24 GB would be preferable. If you upgrade the 1070 (the latest cards should still work with PCIe x16) you will find the CPU start to hold you back, but then you're getting to new system territory.

• Like 1

ckyliu, proud supporter of ViaIntercity.com. i5 12400F, 32GB, GTX980, more in "About me" on my profile. 

support1.jpg

If you turn on developer mode while flying in a scenario in which you normally use MSFS, the FPS display will tell you whether you are GPU or CPU (main thread) limited by the frame times it shows.

If both are similar numbers, then upgrading one component will only leave the other as the weakest link and you will not see much overall performance gain. In this case, a full system upgrade is the only realistic option.