Sign in to follow this  
taguilo

PCSTRING data type conversion

Hi,Do you C++ experts know whether it is possible to convert regular variable values (ie of type int, float, string, etc) into a PCSTRINGZ data type and vice versa, in Visual C++?. As it is a typedef struct, I cannot find a way to do a direct conversion, and I'm not good with pointers' manipulation (yet).ThanksTom

Well, as the name PCSTRINGZ implies, this is a pointer to a string (to be more accurate, its a const pointer to a STRINGZ, which is just another name for a TCHAR array). You couldn't just convert ints or floats to this type, you would need to allocate a TCHAR buffer, use some printf or FormatString type api to convert your data to a string and then pass the TCHAR buffer.

Ok... quick lesson. ;)char stringVariable[10]; // <-- an array of characters, up to 9 with a terminating zero value.char* pstringVariable; // <-- a pointer to a memory location that contains an array of characters, terminated with a zero value.char *pstringVariable; // <-- the exact same as above.PCSTRINGZ pstringVariable; // <-- the exact same as above.pstringVariable = (PCSTRINGZ)malloc(21); <-- allocates the memorysprintf(pstringVariable,"%1.0f",22.0); <-- formats the value of 22.0 into the pstringVariable character array.

Ed Wilson

Mindstar Aviation
My Playland - I69

Hi Ed,Thank you for the example. Now one extra basic question :-)I have int a = 20 (or INT32, UINT32, etc)int b = 30 (or FLOAT64, etc)char Text[7]="Pointer"Now I want to make an array that holds "2030Pointer" and be of type PCSTRINGZ, for example PCSTRINGZ psvalue, where psvalue holds "2030Pointer".....???Tom