Sign in to follow this  
maxter

I am a pilot!

I am now officially a Private Pilot, Airplane Single Engine Land (PP-ASEL), although it really hasn't sunk in yet. The examiner said I was very well prepared for my oral and other than not having an after engine shutdown checklist, my checkride was excellant. I was soooooo relieved after studying and stressing all weekend. The weather forecast was looking iffy for today, but it turned out to be a beautiful day without a cloud in the sky. The wind was gusty and the air was bumpy though, making for some interesting landings. She didn't talk much except to issue commands, so that was nerve-racking too. She did tell me ahead of time that she would tell me right away if I failed and that she wasn't allowed to give me any second chances, so if she didn't say anything it was going well.I will writeup all of the details soon. Some highlights:- Just missed entering top-secret government installation airspace by 200 feet.- Made a steep descent into the Tracy airport pattern. She said, "What you are doing is OK, *but*, for the comfort of your passengers you might consider circling to loose altitude rather than dive-bombing the airport." Good advice.- She didn't put me in an unusual attitude, she just had me fly with my eyes closed for a few minutes, then told me to open them and recover. I had the airplane trimmed, so I just let go of the yoke and listened for pitch changes. When I opened my eyes, I was in a 15-degree band and had lost 400 feet.- Almost ran her over pushing the plane into the parking space. She advised waiting until she had actually signed the certificate before running her over.I have to give a lot of credit for completing the training in 48 hours to all of my simulator time. Thanks to Rich and the gang at TRI for a great sim and thanks to all of you for making it better. Who wants to go for a ride??ToddPP-ASEL

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Todd, This is wonderful news. As always......