Sign in to follow this  
Guest juvat2

Flame outs ?

Guest juvat2

Hi ya Jim,You'll see it more often when you load "nasty" storms. I never worked on Beechjets, so don't know if thats accurate jet engine performance modeling for that aircraft. But I was a jet engine mechanic in USAF(fighters)for 20yrs, and even on those high performance engines, they can be stall/stagged when the given engines performance envelope is exceeded.Ummm.. the "fix" while I was in the service was R&R stick actuator. Heh, just poking you there. But it is true, pilot had caused several of the stall/stags. You can literally starve the engine of air, or pack to much air pressure against the engine compressor. End result not very good. Regain an attitude and speed that the aircraft engine was designed for a successful aerial re-start.Take care,JimB.

Guest R_Driscoll

Peter James (LGS lead programmer) in one of his last posts in this area claims it is realistic behaviour, deliberately modelled. I.e., if you dive too fast, your engines should flame out with a jet. Too fix it (as Jim says), you have to fly within the envelope - stay within the design parameters of the motor! FU3 is full of little features like this - if you don't like them you're not ready for realistic flying. Checkout the clamshell reverse thrusters on landing - they MOVE, and Peter even modelled the effects of keeping reverse thrusters on after stopping - find out for yourself what happens. Moving reverse thrusters was not done is M$F$ until recently (as far as I know from reading ComputerPilot) - with a commercial add-on plane.Another way to see the effect of diving is to observe the rapid increase in air pressure, which changes the measured airspeed rapidly pushing the plane into the barberpole red zone.Goota go, Cheers, RObd