Sign in to follow this  
Guest rdg

Fact or Fiction - Drivers get better over time

Guest rdg

Hi,I often wondered as I have tried many drivers. I have an 8800GT OC and always had this question in the back of my mind. Do the base algorythms the programmers write really improve? In other words, do they somehow wake up one morning and say "I have a better way to do this, and I can do it it 4 lines instead of 2" thus improving something? Maybe I can make this chip faster so Joe over there can get better frames. I think early drivers to support a new board probably go through that initial "this will work better" stage, but it seems to me that most of the driver updates are to support new boards, or to fix certain games that have some type of anomoly so to speak. I dont know really, it just seems to me if the code base gets larger and they support a wider variety of cards that they wont get better, and maybe not worse, so what is your opinion. As a retired developer, I know what bloated code can do, although this is such a specialty type programming, I dont really have a clue.RegardsBob G

It's not about "base algorithms" anymore, everything is optimized on a per-title basis. So yes, drivers do get better over time.

Guest rdg

That makes sense. But, do they get more bloated, less efficient?ThanksBob

That makes sense. But, do they get more bloated, less efficient?ThanksBob
Maybe the question should be narrowed down to:Do they offer better performance in FSX?I've yet to hear that the 180 drivers are any better in FSX than my trusty 175.16 drivers.

Bert

Guest rdg
Maybe the question should be narrowed down to:Do they offer better performance in FSX?I've yet to hear that the 180 drivers are any better in FSX than my trusty 175.16 drivers.