Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hernan1

Restoring the AFCAD.bgl files

I have an embarrasing question regarding an error I made when trying to view an airport AFCAD.bgl file. Today I was working in adding the correct gate sizes for the Beijing airport (ZBAA) scenery made by FRF studios. For some reason when I was saving my changes it opened a different folder for another airport. As I tried to locate where that file was, I opened the Properties folder, and it directed me to its location. When I opened the file, I got the window that tells me that whatever I was using to view it, could not open the file. I obviously thought that only the AFCAD utility could "view" it, so I selected AFCAD tool to open that file with. Now, all of my AFCADs listed in the add-on scenery/scenery folders no longer have their .bgl extension and the "icon" in front of the AFCAD file has the AFCAD icon. I did not realize about my error, until I opened flight simulator to check that particular airport when I noticed that there are trees are all over the apron now. I went to my FRF-ZBAA scenery folder and noticed that all of the files with.bgl extensions no longer show the bgl extension. For example: AFX_ZBAA_FRF.bgl was normally there, now it simply shows: [AFCAD icon}AFX_ZBAA_FRF (no.bgl extension) How can I go back to the way it was before? I hope I was able to explain my problem properly without the need to post a screenshot as that is another problem I have. I suppose what I am asking is, how can restore a .bgl file?. I will appreciate your knowledgeable input, because mine sucks! Please help. :(

Have you tried simply renaming the afcads which currently have no extension - adding the bgl suffix?Also I suggest using the "details" view rather than the "icon" view - so you are seeing the actual file name. Your problem potentially is more widespread if all of the bgls in your FS2004 installation are now "missing" the bgl extension.