Sign in to follow this  
haztronic

NGX Final App. Help

Hi guys,

this is my first time posting in the PMDG support forum and its to do with the NGX. I love this plane, absolutely fantastic but I'm having struggles with final approach speeds. To be clear, I have done some beautiful landings in the NGX and some landings I'd just love to FORGET.

Lately its been terrible, just now I finished a long route from Chicago to LAX in SWA's 737-700. Descent was fine, went along with my FMS calculations, speeds fine. But like usual, when at about 800-1000ft I disengage A/P and continue to follow the G/S by hand. But for some reason lately my speed just starts dropping like crazy and I end up either not making the runway or barely making the numbers. I don't understand why, I see videos of professional pilots on youtube and they have their final app speed of lets say 129 dialed in their MCP and hand fly the plane all the way down with no problems or increased loss of speed. But with me, I have to keep a high speed in my MCP because I know its going to for some reason just drop. Earlier I had 150 put in it and I ended up landing with a speed of 125kts.

I know its something I'm doing I just don't know what.

Thank you.

I'm sure you checked your throttle position? Sorry. Just starting with the most obvious. If you're fire-walling it and still losing speed, then something is definitely wrong on your end. Spoilers? I"m assuming their down.

I know that once you reach Flaps 30 (I believe), the A/T stops flying according to FMC speeds and you have to set VREF (or whatever you feel is appropriate) in the MCP. I know you're disconnecting A/P, but are you disconnecting A/T as well? If you are, and your throttle(s) is idle and you are expecting A/T to keep the speed up, well....there's your problem. You may inadvertently be going to idle and just bleeding off speed way too early.

If anything I said is wrong or in the wrong direction, please correct me. I'm tired....

Hi,