Sign in to follow this  
Guest UlfB

Anyone else having "issues" with the new La Palma scenery?

Recommended Posts

Hi All,I have just downloaded this new La Palma scenery by CanarySim that is in the new files for today.I have installed it, but the "configurator" program hangs my system up for some reason.I have manually installed the scenery into FS, and it looks absoloutly amazing, real top quality stuff, except I have a large watery bar on approach.So my questions are two-fold.1) Does the "configurator" program hang anyone elses PC2) Does anyone else have this watery bar?, it could be to do with the fact that I have the Simwings scenery, and there is a tick box to select in the "configuratoe" for Simwings compatibilty, but as I said above, it hangs my system ;)CheersDan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

HiYep I had a problem with the configurator too - I clicked to add the scenery to the library and the MSDOS box came up and it just hung... and then when I tried to close it, it said there was a problem. It then came up saying UPDATED... even though it hadn't. So I had to add the scenery manually too!And nope don't have any problem like you're describing with regards to the scenery itself...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ahh, ok, so its not only me with the configurator problem then!!, I hazard a guess that my "bar" near the end of the rwy is to do with the compatibility with Simwings, and the fact that I cant click that tick box to allow compatability.Dan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey, Dan,what is a 'large watery bar'?I used to sit in one in a swimming pool in the Manila Hotel sipping Rum and Somethings all day, but I don't think that's what you mean.Like you guys, I did a manual install here. But for my own preference, not because of any known fault of these developers. I just DON'T LIKE INSTALLERS, period.Mark "Dark Moment" Beaumonthttp://www.swiremariners.com/newlogo.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hiThe scenery config editor hangs on my Windows XP aswell. I had to shut it down manually. Then I added the scenery manually from FS2004 and it worked fine.There were some ground bleeding textures on the airport area though :( otherwise awesome scenery !Jani

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HiYes thats a point there are some ground bleeding textures past the runway 19 threshold - but apart from that it is excellent scenery yes! :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Dan,Yes there is a problem with the configurator and I got an error message after clicking the update button. Luis Oswaldo Bethencourt, team member of CanarySim, is working on an upgrade of the configurator program.The scenery works allright for me and its amazingly well done. Payware class all the way (installer and configurator not included) :D I don't have your problem with a large watery bar. Could you post a picture?Luis gave me the following advice how to manually activate the scenery in FS9. First put the scenery 'Gcla - vtp & lmw' way down in the fs9 scenery list after the 'Addon scenery' entry. Then put the airport scenery 'Gcla - aeropuerto' somewhere at the top of the list of entries.Some more info from Luis: The following files are replaced in the folder 'Flight Simulator 9SceneryAfriscenery': FL943210.bgl HL943210.bgl HP943210.bglIn the folder 'Flight Simulator 9CanarySimDataBackup' you may find backups of the original FS9 files named FL943210.bak HL943210.bak HP943210.bakThe other files with extension .ori are the ones copied to Afriscenery folder.I hope that Luis and the guys at CanarySim get the bugs out of the configurator - The scenery is fantastic :-) And I also hope that you get your installation working, Dan!Ulf Bjarke

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HelloI'm the scenerydesigner of La Palma 2005. First one, we are working on a two new hotfix that it's incomming to the AVSIM library. Later, the programmer will connect to this topic to solve any question related with the "configurator" program. Ok, I have investigated the blinking texture at the end of the rwy19 and 01 and other zones. So, you have change this number:[TERRAIN]TERRAIN_ERROR_FACTOR=60.000000TERRAIN_MIN_DEM_AREA=10.000000TERRAIN_MAX_DEM_AREA=100.000000TERRAIN_MAX_VERTEX_LEVEL=19 ---->> set this number to 21TERRAIN_TEXTURE_SIZE_EXP=8TERRAIN_AUTOGEN_DENSITY=2TERRAIN_USE_GRADIENT_MAP=1TERRAIN_EXTENDED_TEXTURES=0TERRAIN_DEFAULT_RADIUS=0.000000TERRAIN_EXTENDED_RADIUS=0.000000TERRAIN_EXTENDED_LEVELS=0You can find the file in C:/Documment and settings/Your name session/Application Data/Microsoft/FS9/fs9.cfg. I hope you can solve this problem.I mention that this is a freeware project, but we will sopport any problem relationated with the scenery. And we are thinking to release a month later, a new version of La Palma 2005 that it will include all fixs and some improvements in the scenery perfomance and other things.Last one, I will stay here for any question. Of course I give my appreciation for all user that are helping to fix these problemsPabloCanarySim Scenery Designer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also loaded this scenery without the installer.....I like to be in control of what goes where so the "configurator" is a non-issue. However, I notice some texture bleeding, which the developer says can be corrected with alterations to the Texture parameters in the *.cfg file. But I suspect they are elevation conflicts because I also saw your "bar of water"....at least I think we're seeing the same thing, although I would describe it as a 'hill'....great for water skiing!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello again!Please, try to do the steps published above for try to fix the water problems localized at rwy 01/19.ThanksPabloCanarySim Scenery Designer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

WOW!:-hmmm I never get something seemed in the development of this scenery!! Ok, Then, I understand you have the simwings scenery? If it is true, please verify your FL943210.bgl is off. It's localized at the FS9/Scenery/AFRI/SceneryFor deactivate rename the extension .bgl to .off or put tis file in another directory.Also, if you have done the configuration manually, you have to know that it's important that "LA PALMA 2005 - ORTOSCENERY v3.0" layer, will be above the "Additionnal Scenery" Layer"1) Does the "configurator" program hang anyone elses PC"Yes at the moment we have been noticed that some users with a lot of scenery areas the config program hangs the computer. This will be fix in an incoming hotfix.PabloCanarysim Scenery Designer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ufff... hello everyone out there...I'm Luis and I'm the current scenery configurator developer.I'm so so so sorry about all those problems you're having. AsPablo said I've been working yesterday and today, (day and night,,NO SLEEP) into a solution for this problem. I'm the responsibleof this problems. BUT... I've got to tell you.. I've created a newFIX.. a new version of one of the modules of the FS9CANARYSIMDATAfolder.. the update.exe. This program updates the scenery.cfg adding 2 entries.. one just below the addon scenery.. the ORTOSCENERYentry.. which matches with LA Palma 2005 svp lmw folder. Is also creates another entry, just at the bottom of the file, forthe airport. I've sent my new patch to a few guys who have askedme about solutions. The first aswer was that IT WORKED. If youjust send me your e-mail adresses I'll give you instructionsof how to solve the problem + a new update.exe file. Setting up the scenery manually is not an easy task (well, notso difficult indeed hehe) but if you don't use the configuratoryou'll find the problems of that great TSUNAMI at thesouth of the airpot. That thing happens when you use a Simwings scenery + La Palma 2005 and you don't tick the checkbox"Make click here if you have any simwings canary scenery...)To make that big mass of water out. Go to sceneryafrisceneryand rename your FL HL and HP943210.bgl files to HP HL FL943219.off.If you don't have any simwings canary islands scenery you have tocopy our *.ori bgl files found at FS9 rootCanarysimdatabackupfolder into sceneryafiscenery and rename them to bgl. no matter if you erase the default ones,, because the backup folder of canarysim contains those files into *.bak extension.Please.. all of you.. give a try to the installer. Just give meyour email adresses via email (luis.osw@gmail.com) and I'll sendyou a copy of the patched update.exeIf it works.. I'll send to avsim a HOT FIX 2 with that fileas well as a new config_uk.exe file with instructions forupdating. And again guys I'M REALLY SORRY. WAS MY MISTAKE.Although this is a freeware scenery, I'll make my job assupport... I PROMISE. You will all see LA Palma.. and our facesat the terminal! =P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, the changing of the files described above solved the big water bar, many thanks.edit: just noticed that when I rename the files noted above, I lose the coastlines around tenerife ;)Dan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you use the LWM viewer from Jim Keir, you'll see why. The replacement HP943210.bgl file has missing information. I'm sure the development team can make a fix for that now that it has been mentioned.By the way, in defence of the team, I must apologize for my comments about the water 'hill'.....in my haste to see this scenery within FS, I had neglected/forgotten to place those replacement FL, HL and HP943210.bgl's in my set up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!One thing that you probably would like to fix as well... there seems to be LandClass bgl in the Gcla - vtp & lmw Scenery folder. You must delete the Texture folder in that case. The Texture folder (even an empty folder) will cause performance problems when combined with LandClass. Either no texture folder or texture folder with all the terrain textures in it.Otherwise looks good. :-)Tatu

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I downloaded the new fix, followed instructions and I see no scenery. Nothing. The airport is actually gone but I also see water flowing up the mountains and beacjes located at the top of the mountains...I would gladly delete the whole thing and try again but this time with a completely brand new install program. I tried to install it like 3 times. No luck. I wish folks stop giving us scenery installers - they are nothing but trouble - it is so easy to copy files to the right locations manually and to install from the FS scenery library.EDIT: One success. I was able to ROLLBACK and then uninstall. This worked well and at least I got the default airport back.Michael J.WinXP-Home SP2,AMD64 3500+,Abit AV8,Radeon X800Pro,36GB Raptor,1GB PC3200,Audigy 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I wish folks stopgiving us scenery installers - they are nothing but trouble -it is so easy to copy files to the right locations manuallyand to install from the FS scenery library."I couldn't agree more Michael!!! I want to chck this one out, but I'll wait till it gets sorted out. How about a manual install version for those of us that HATE installers.Regards, MichaelKDFWhttp://www.calvirair.com/mcpics/mcdcvabanner.jpgCalVirAir International

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, maybe it is a fantastic scenery but install program is totally hosed.Michael J.WinXP-Home SP2,AMD64 3500+,Abit AV8,Radeon X800Pro,36GB Raptor,1GB PC3200,Audigy 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Michael, The fix you've found at avsim it's just avoids thehangs at the UPDATE progress. It was created as a non terminal"solution" (it knew it was going to work in some cases but in othersit wasn't!) before I got the latest patch ready. Send me your email address, and I'll send you the stable patch.Luis. (And it's not a hose.. just let it work! and you'll avoidlot of time installing and moving files.. #### it! =P);luis.osw@gmail.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All right.. I've been TOTALLY dissapointed with Michael comments.Excuse me for that man,I KNOW It's failing. I've been workingTWO DAYS since release, and I've just slept a few hours. I've been working for you guys to have an utility wich solvesthe problems of installing, because it must be installed ina very specific way, and it may cause problems to many of you.(and i know it's causing them to you right now, but if thistime everything goes fine, it will be ok in a few hours)When I designed the configurator I NEVER THOUGHT people may haveso many scenery layers... (how can someone be so FREAKK!?!?!?!?).. but... as I told you the patch is on the way. I've now sentit to DAN and ULF, they're testing it. If it works I'll sendthe final HOT FIX 2 to AVSIM.On the other hand, pleaseee... remember.. this is a FREEWAREproduct. I could understand Michael's dissapointment if this scenerywas a payware.. BUT IT ISN'T!!!!! Sometimes I guess I'm takingtoo much concerning about sending you the patches,, and I really shouldn't.. BUT NO!!!!!!... I must make it work, it's myjob.. and I'll do it. Please feel free to make comments to make it work, but not just to say "I hate installers".About the HOT FIX. It was sent to AVSIM because of the high downloads the file had just two hours after release. We had to make a patch to solve at least something, that famous DOS blank screen). It was a temporary solution. Now,,, JUST TWO DAYS AFTERrelease,, I've got the solution. How much time took PSS (just as an example) to solve their problems with the A330/340 series???remember this notch product, it also failed at the initial release..and what about now??Be constructive, no critical. Help is on the way (and it's FREE!!)Luis. CanarySIm Developer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Luis, clam down my friend and get some sleep ;).I too do not like auto-installers, like many, many others out there, this is maybe because we have had bad experiance with them, or just because we like to see what goes where, and have total control over the installation procedure.Maybe it would be prudent to offer a manual installation of your package aswell?.Take a break, I now have your scenery in FS, working fine and also have coaslines back at Tenerife, AND no big water hill.I will try out the update you mailed me a minute ago tonight, but just be happy in the knowledge that you have produced, dare I say it, one of the most realistic looking scenery addons for FS EVER, it really is that good.Dan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dan, thanks for the recommendation, but I want to have good dreamswhile I sleep, not nightmares!. While the update.exe file is notpatched and the downloads counter is growing,, I won't be ableto sleep!!!! (or almost!)Please perform the update following the setps I told you. And be sure to delete first the entries you had added manually.. just tomake sure you have a "clean install".. (move the folders to theirrespective locations in case you had moved them previously).And I thought the same than you about making an alternativepackage containing "just the files" without the installer + ainstruction guide. So, there would be two differente packages..one with my installer (once corrected), and other one in the wayI'm discovering most of you prefer, without it. If Pablo agreeswe'd publish a version with the raw files. Talking in pro of the scenery configurator, it's better when youjust have to click on update after installing, than having to edit the scenery.cfg manually or even add the sceneries to thescenery database INTO THE RIGHT LAYER. Failing to do that las thingmakes conflics with aerosoft/simwings/fsplanet sceneriesIt's just one click. And if you want to increase performance you just have to select the options you want to disable instead of being razy out there disabling bgl's which you don't know what they do or what they part on. I guess it's easier to work in thatway. But you are the ones who make the choice.So, I won't apologize anymore. I'm waiting for your answer =P.Thanks Dan.Luis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this