Sign in to follow this  
The flying guy

Frame rate issues

Hello, I'm new to this or any forum. I'm a pc builder and fsx enthusiast.

I have been working on a customers pc for the last few weeks trying to solve his low frame rate issue.

He has p3d and by the looks of it an airbus of some kind installed.

When flying in an area such as klax or ksfo with his airbus the frames drop down to 8-12.

This only seems to happen with his addon planes, stock aircrafts all get 40-55 fps in the same locations.

As for settings, only thing that impacts frames is the scenery complexity slider.

Moving that 1 notch to the right gives him 15-18 but it looks horrible, moving it 2 notches to the right and the sim becomes a slides how lol. My diagnosis is as follows, it seems the addon aircrafts utilize the same core on the cpu as the scenery slider and she just gets overloaded.

I built him the exact same pc I got which is as follows.

-gigabyte 990fx uad3 MB

-FX 8350 overclocked to 4.8 on a custom water cooler loop (temp stays at 42 C)

-asus R9 290X also overclocked

-16gb of ram running at 1833mhz

-windows 7

-everything's on a 1tb samsung 850 pro ssd

This system runs my fsx really well so I assumed it would do fine for him since from what I read p3d has better coding and is an updates fsx.

I loaded up my fsx on his machine to try it out and it performs just as well as on my rig so the hardware is all good. Must be something to do with his addon aircrafts.

Are these aircrafts really that cpu demanding?

Also tried a Cessna c182 and that has low fps like the airbus, but I'm not sure if that's an addon aircraft.

thanks in advance

Hi Flying Guy!

I'm not an IT expert or anything, just will share my humble opinion:

FSX is predominantly CPU-heavy. You can throw him the best GPU in the market that he won't care and let you fly at 10 FPS. Pretty troll application in that sense, many people have been frustrated by this.