Sign in to follow this  
warbirds

Now that I have the Rift

And it has earphones and mike built in I would like to  know what you guys use for voice control (which seems to be a natural for Rift VR)?

I am looking at Voice Attack and MCE and if anyone is using one of these for their Rift please comment.

Paul Grubich 2017 - Professional texture artist painting virtual aircraft I love.
Be sure to check out my aged cockpits for the A2A B-377, B-17 and Connie at Flightsim.com and Avsim library

i-5vbvgq6-S.png

I have used VoiceAttack, but have switched to MCE and I love it a lot. VoiceAttack is for general keyboard control via voice commands for all kinds of games/applications, but MCE is of course specifically built for flight sims only. So there's really no contest between the two, other than the price. There's not much setup required for MCE, but there is a lot to learn at first. And I've been using it around a year and I'm still learning a few new things now and then.

The different MCE voices are a little peculiar at times. Bill sounds like the kind of guy who has maybe been in prison. Lorna sounds like she has at least ten cats. But I like them. I work with a bunch of weirdos anyway, so I don't mind having strange sounding persons as co-pilots.

Ok, I finally got voice attack and mce and love them both. I think voice attack is a bit more flexible and I use it for Elite and Dangerous and some other games.  Mce is great for the pre-made flows for the airliners (747) and flight in general. 

Paul Grubich 2017 - Professional texture artist painting virtual aircraft I love.
Be sure to check out my aged cockpits for the A2A B-377, B-17 and Connie at Flightsim.com and Avsim library

i-5vbvgq6-S.png

On 9/17/2017 at 2:29 AM, warbirds said: