Sign in to follow this  
slantalpha

Rex SkyForce 3D vs Texture Direct vs Soft Clouds

I'm pretty new to weather add-on software for Prepar3D. What's the difference between these?

Rex SkyForce 3D
Rex Texture Direct
Rex Soft Clouds

From what I've read, I'm guessing that SkyForce 3D "injects" cloud textures into its own weather engine (that displays the weather in the sim), or sends them to ActiveSky (which is only a weather engine).

Does Rex Texture Direct do textures on airport runways? Do the textures have to be "injected" into either SkyForce 3D or ActiveSky?

Is Rex Soft Clouds an "add-on" for SkyForce 3D so that SkyForce 3D can "inject" soft clouds into its own weather engine or into ActiveSky?

Looks like there's a 30% off sale on ActiveSky, so I might just get that for now, but I'm not sure how good it would look without one of the products I've listed above?

You don't need Rex Soft Clouds as SF replaces it.

Rex Texture Direct you only have to open it and install what you want to use, once done you don't need to open it again. Don't install clouds SF is for that.

AS is "the" weather engine to use. Pair with SF for sky structures and textures.

2 from a flight tonight. You can see SF structures and textures. 

AS+SF

sf2.jpg

and

sf.jpg

David Murden  MSFS   Fenix A320  PMDG 737 • MG Honda Jet • 414 / TDS 750Xi •  FS-ATC Chatter • FlyingIron Spitfire & ME109G • MG Honda Jet 

Fenix A320 Walkthrough PDF   Flightsim.to •

DCS  A10c II  F-16c  F/A-18c • F-14 • (Others in hanger) • Supercarrier  Terrains = • Nevada NTTR  Persian Gulf  Syria • Marianas • 

• 10900K@4.9 All Cores HT ON   32GB DDR4  3200MHz RTX 3080  • TM Warthog HOTAS • TM TPR • Corsair Virtuoso XT with Dolby Atmos®  Samsung G7 32" 1440p 240Hz • TrackIR 5 & ProClip

On 1/26/2018 at 2:55 PM, Nyxx said:

You don't need Rex Soft Clouds as SF replaces it.