Sign in to follow this  
Guest ThrottleUp

Upgrading From Pentium 4: E8600 Or Core I7

Guest ThrottleUp

Hallo everyone icon1.gifWould really appreciate your input on this as Im a bit lost! I will keep things simple - I have chosen all the components for my new gaming rig but am stuck on the choice of processor. Its come down to E8600 or Core i7 920. The graphics card I have chosen is the HD4870 1GB. Both these CPUs will be a massive leap in performance for me since Im still on a clunky Pentium but thats where the confusion starts icon9.gifIm trying to decide which of the two paths to follow when it comes to a new system. Let me show you both of them. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------1. Pentium 4 -----> E8600 -----> Core i7 32nm 2. Pentium 4 -----> Core i7 920 45nm ----->Core i7 32nm----------------------------------------------------------------------------------I am not technically well-versed on the details of these processors but part of my confusion as to what to do stems from the fact that I've been told to wait by some people till about Q4 2009 when apparently there will be a "2nd generation Nehalem" coming out with a 32nm manufacturing process and this CPU will also have "8 cores". By that time one hopes that games will be coded to take advantage of such a CPU so a big leap in performance would be noticed. Therefore my initial thinking was to get an E8600 as an interim solution till early 2010 and then sell it - putting the money towards a system powered byt the "next gen" Nehalems. the thinking behind this is that all the "growing pains" will be "ironed out" of the Nehalem CPUs and hopefully prices will have dropped a bit too. I actually want to order my new rig within the next 24hrs but I thought I must ask the Avsim simmer gurus what they thought icon3.gifThanks for reading and I eagerly look forward to your replies icon1.gif