Sign in to follow this  
dburne

GMap's Airplane Icon - orientation

Ok now this is strange!

I have been using GMap for Flight, for many months now.

Always, the little white airplane icon on GMap, was oriented in one direction only, no matter which direction the icon was moving as I was flying. It was basically pointing northeast, whether it was moving east, west, north, south, etc...

So anyway I start my flight this morning for the latest aerocache - now all of a sudden, at least for this flight, the icon oriented itself appropriately! As I was heading due west, the icon turned and pointed itself west.

Just curious why it now is doing this correctly, now of course the next flight it may go back like it was, time will tell, anyone else that uses GMap seeing this?

My experience is...it depends what day of the week it is :lol:

It's a bug that never goes away, there is the odd time that it orients itself in the right direction for the whole flight.

It's a bug that never goes away, there is the odd time that it orients itself in the right direction for the whole flight.

Ah ok then, must  be one of those rare times it did that for me - have just not noticed it before.

Thanks,

If you start GMap too early it happens quite often.

Just Disconnect and reconnect GMap and everything is fine again.

Best way to avoid it is start up GMap not before your aircraft is ready to take off, or start when your already airborne.

Thanks Heimi, I did not realize that - I will try that next time. I think I did wait a little longer to start it on this particular flight.

i remember something. How old is your version of GMap?

There were 3 versions, and the first 2 versions had this problem more often.

Best way to avoid it is start up GMap not before your aircraft is ready to take off, or start when your already airborne.

I find it doesn't make a difference, in the air or on the ground. 

i remember something. How old is your version of GMap?