Sign in to follow this  
CathayA340

FSX Quit to Desktop

Hello,

I just did a clean install of FSX along with all of my addons, including FSDreamTeam KJFK and Quality Wings 757. I have seen many crashes about these two addons relating to the Addon Manager. When I load up the sim as an admin, I get no warning message - it simply quits to desktop. I tried many things, including uninstalling FSDreamTeam completely, deleting the Scenery/Facility folders in program data and removing the Shaders/Shaders10 folders. 

One thing to note is that when I install FSDT, I get an error message each time about my dll.xml "Error on line 1, position 46:".

Does anyone have any tips? I haven't been able to fly yet after installing the FSDreamTeam scenery. Thanks!

Confirmed that it's addon manager. I uninstalled all FSDT and fixed up some files, and my sim is working - but then, I installed the standalone addon manager from the fsdt website - and now, it won't work.

One thing to note is that when I install FSDT, I get an error message each time about my dll.xml "Error on line 1, position 46:".

Download and install a neat program called Notepad++.  It will tell you exactly where position 46 is located.  I use it all the time if editing the dll.xml.  I think errors for placing items in the dll.xml can occur if you do not have sufficient permissions.  Running/installing as Admin is just one permission.  Turning off UAC is another permission.  Turning off any anti-virus program when installing any program is another as the anti-virus program picks up a lot of false-positives and puts really good and files into quarantine or a required registry item is not made or a permission required at the firewall.

When you reinstalled your fsdt airports, did you use the latest installation program on their website or did you use a backup installer?  Some of the products have been updated, especially for better compatibility with DX10 Preview.

Best regards,