Sign in to follow this  
FromTheFlightDeck_Sim

How to edit buildings

I am new to editing buildings in FSX. What programs do you need to edit buildings/objects in FSX? I have ADE but it doesn't help as it just places where the taxiways are placed.

Thanks!

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I've only just installed ADE, and hardly skimmed its surface, but I'm sure you can select and move stock buildings around as well as create new ones....

Patrick, have you read the manual that you can access through the html link under the "help" tab at the top of the ADE9X screen?  Worlds of info there that will guide you through ADE and how to use it.  Also, the FSDevelopers website has a separate forum thread dedicated to the use of ADE and also provides tons of help and ideas.

The issue of buildings on the taxiways is an autogen issue.  An airport background polygon will take care of those in FSX, but not FS2004 (FS9).  See the manual.

Randy

I am new to editing buildings in FSX. What programs do you need to edit buildings/objects in FSX? I have ADE but it doesn't help as it just places where the taxiways are placed.

Thanks!

If you are referring to actually constructing replicas of real world buildings for use in your scenery there are a few choices.   The PROS will use Blender, 3DStudio Max and even Google Sketchup.   Then you have to design the textures using either Photoshop, GIMP, SAI or any other art program, so long as you can convert the texture files into DDS files.   

If you are referring to actually constructing replicas of real world buildings for use in your scenery there are a few choices.   The PROS will use Blender, 3DStudio Max and even Google Sketchup.   Then you have to design the textures using either Photoshop, GIMP, SAI or any other art program, so long as you can convert the texture files into DDS files.   

Great! Thanks. Can I use those programs to EDIT default buildings?