Sign in to follow this  
Noel

Will a good mobo for 9900K fit in my old HAF-X case?

After nearly 6y of an average of 3-4h/day overclocked to 4.32-4.42Ghz my 3930K is finally beginning to hint the end is near.  I assembled it along w/ an 800W PSU and an original GTX Titan, 32gb of ram.  I've been assembling PCs for 20+ years or so but this time I was going to consider looking for a custom builder.  After looking at pricing, I'm looking again at doing my own.  

Couple of questions if you will that will help me decide how to go:

1.  I'll never do SLI, so with a 9900K or 9700K overclocked as able, an RTX 2080Ti, 32Gb of some kind of ram, and a mobo to support it, what size PSU will I need?

2.  Will a mobo to accommodate these parts and fit into my 6y/o old HAF-X case?  What's the right mobo for me?  I think I'd like to do water cooling to the CPU if it is plug n play and easy to do w/ no risk for leakage.  I'm using a Noctua air cooler now it's just so bulky I'd be OK with maybe doing water this time.

3.  I have two Samsung Sata 3 SSDs one is 6y/o the other 2 or 3y.  Any new interface drives SIGNIFICANTLY better than these?  It's been 6y since I looked at the evolving tech.

4.  Windows 10 I guess it is, yes?  I still use Win 7 and it's always been great.

Finally, if I chicken out, who's a good custom builder?  Thanks!

Noel

System:  9900K@5.0gHz@1.23v all cores, MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC, Noctua NH-D15S w/ steady supply of 40-60F ambient air intake, Corsair Vengeance 32Gb LPX 3200mHz DDR4, Sabrent NVMe 2Tb x 2, RTX 4090 FE, Corsair RM 850W PSU, Win10 Pro, LG Ultra Curved Gsync Ultimate 3440x1440, TCA Boeing Edition Yoke & TQ, Cessna Trim Wheel, RTSS Framerate Limiter w/ Edge Sync for near zero Frametime Variance achieving ultra-fluid animation at lower frame rates.

Aircraft used in A Pilot's Life V2:  PMDG 738, Aerosoft CRJ700, FBW A320NX, WT 787X