Sign in to follow this  
olderndirt

Mt St Helens

It was 1980. The eruption.  I was able on a trip from Seattle to Portland in 1982 to take a drive along the allowed perimeter some miles out from the mountain.  Was able to overlook Spirit Lake from a distance and it was still fully coated with fallen trees.  As we navigated the eastern perimeter that was allowed we were able to see the first emerging plant life and some resurgence of animal life. It was quite some experience for my two young daughters, then 8 and 6 years old.

My Dad was flamed out that we drove his Peugeot Turbo 505 through an area of pumice dust.  I had to change his oil and his air and oil filters the next day.

My trip to Seattle was to meet with fledgling Microsoft and pick up a pre-release reviewers copy of the original Microsoft Word.  I was a contributing writer to Autumn Revolution, a monthly publication put out by the Tulsa, Oklahoma, IBM User's Group.  I later also was able to review Microsoft's original spreadsheet program, Multiplan.  Microsoft at that time occupied two floors of a relatively small office building.  I did not meet any of the founders. 

Ten years later, in 1992, I was in a party of three from SunAir Virtual Airlines on the pre-internet Prodigy online service that visited Stu Moment at his facility at KCMI to encourage further development of his subLogic's Flight Assignment: ATP.

No additional fame since then, LOL!

Edited by fppilot
  • Like 2

Frank Patton
MasterCase Pro H500M; MSI Z490 WiFi MOB; i7 10700k 3.8 Ghz; Gigabyte RTX 3080 12gb OC; H100i Pro liquid cooler; 32GB DDR4 3600;  Gold RMX850X PSU;
ASUS 
VG289 4K 27" Monitor; Honeycomb Alpha & Bravo, Crosswind 3's w/dampener.  
Former USAF meteorologist & ground weather school instructor. AOPA Member #07379126

"I will never put my name on a product that does not have in it the best that is in me." - John Deere

15 hours ago, fppilot said: