Jump to content

Sign in to follow this  

Recommended Posts

Hi there,I'm using wxre V1.90.0.2 and fsuipc V3.0.3.0 (own registration) with FS2004 and I'm getting some strange panel flickering in 2-D mode whenever the weather is updating (I think). This doesn't happen in VC and I'm still trying to figure out what causes this since it doesn't happen without wxre running.It appears that everytime the weather is updating and/or the clouds in the distance are changing my 2-D panel starts to flicker for roughly 5-10 seconds in 1 second intervals.This is with default aircraft and panels. Can anyone reproduce this? Please let me know if I need to provide more information. I'm running Winxp home (SP1) and just upgraded to the latest directX (9b I think).Cheers,Petehttp://members.aol.com/pzsoulman/myhomepage/logo.gifAthlonXP2000,AbitKX7-333(latest4in1),512MB/2700SDRAM,WinXP,DirectX9b,Geforce3TI200(128MB)(Det.44.03),SBlive(WDM5.1.2601.0)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest

I am having the exact same response, using the exact same programs. At first I thought it was due to my video driver, which I have updated now to 44.67. Although this update eliminated some of the problems people have been discussing in another forum, the flickering in the 2d panels (only when WREX is running) remains. I will provide all systems and program info upon request to the developer.JIm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest rds_mcleod

Jim:"Me too, me too!" He said. Configuration:P4 2.4 Mhz ASUS P4PE Mb 1024 RAMVideo: nVidia GeForce Ti4200 64M Latest drivers from MSoft link 44.03Award BIOSDirectX 9a, blah, blah, blah. Not to lay fault with wxRE, but I'd sure like to know WHERE to problem lies.Blinking is sporadic and as above, appears to be happening on updating WX. Damn irritating, not to mention what it does to your vision. :-violin Ron McLeod CYEG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,So the common theme with this "flickering" is with the Nvidia cards... Interesting. Since no reports of ATI with this yet (ATI guys get a different problem), I am going to assume this is yet another video driver problem. Hopefully some new drivers will address it - and in the mean time maybe we can figure out how to stop the flickers. I don't have any Nvidia cards on hand at the moment so hopefully some of you can try some testing... including.. force idle priority, running wxRE minimized, changing from full to windowed and back, et.c... ? Any info would be much appreciated!-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0][tr][td align = "left"]Damian ClarkHiFi Simulation SoftwareDeveloper of ActiveSkyThe next-generation weather environment simulation for FS2002!http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky[/td][td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg][/td][/tr][/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr][/table

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Damian,I'll be doing some more testing. Just as an FYI, I never had any problems similar to the ones that were reported (i.E. no gauges in 2-D panels), I believe with ATI cards. This NVIDIA driver had been very stable for me in the past.I just tried both full screen and windowed mode (both in 1024x768/16 and 32 bit) without success. Also, minimizing wxre didn't make a difference either. I'll try the "force idle" in a minute and will report back.I hope I won't have to update video drivers as those have been an incredible performance boost for my system.oops, forgot to mention this. I'm not quite sure if this had happend before with FSUIPC 3.01 or 3.02. Maybe that could be the culprit?Cheers,Petehttp://members.aol.com/pzsoulman/myhomepage/logo.gifAthlonXP2000,AbitKX7-333(latest4in1),512MB/2700SDRAM,WinXP,DirectX8.1,Geforce3TI200(128MB)(Det.30.82),SBlive(WDM5.1.2601.0)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Damien - As you recall from my other post on this same subject, I also have an Nvidia GeForce4 TI 4600 and have the same problems.I've tried various drivers and setings - 4109,4351,4403,4467,4490 and 4520 - doing a clean boot anbd install between each one. No joy - flickers.Tried changing AA/Anis and Performance settings to various combos - no joy.Tried the suggested enabling of weather transitions and setting transition speed to 'mild'. - no joy.Changed resolutions from my normal 1600x1200x32 to 1024x768x32 - same problem.I'm running the press gold but I doubt there'd be any difference in the retail version.xp2700+A7N8X/333fsb1g pc2700 ddrGeForce4 TI4600/128MFSUIPC 3.02(reg)Regards,Vic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Pete,Also as a test can you please try a different video resolution... thanks for your help!-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0][tr][td align = "left"]Damian ClarkHiFi Simulation SoftwareDeveloper of ActiveSkyThe next-generation weather environment simulation for FS2002!http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky[/td][td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg][/td][/tr][/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr][/table

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Damian,I only tried 1024x768 so far, in both 16/32 bit without success. I also just tried "force Idle priority" with both 3-D clouds and simple clouds respectively.I'll keep testing, hopefully somebody else can jump on the test-bandwagon ;-)Cheers,Petehttp://members.aol.com/pzsoulman/myhomepage/logo.gifAthlonXP2000,AbitKX7-333(latest4in1),512MB/2700SDRAM,WinXP,DirectX8.1,Geforce3TI200(128MB)(Det.30.82),SBlive(WDM5.1.2601.0)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Vic,Thanks for all the info...Here are the facts so far (anyone please help add/modify list if you can):1) Happens with Nvidia Geforce 3 or 4 only2) Only happens with wxRE running3) Happens only in FS2004, not FS20024) Happens with FSUIPC 3.02 or 3.035) Driver changes do not help6) Flickers occur during wxRE processingCan someone confirm all these? Also, to all those having the flicker problem.. are you using FSUIPC3 Registered or Unregistered? Any NVIDIA GF3/4 users NOT having this problem? THanks!-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0][tr][td align = "left"]Damian ClarkHiFi Simulation SoftwareDeveloper of ActiveSkyThe next-generation weather environment simulation for FS2002!http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky[/td][td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg][/td][/tr][/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr][/table

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest rds_mcleod

>Can someone confirm all these? Also, to all those having the>flicker problem.. are you using FSUIPC3 Registered or>Unregistered? Any NVIDIA GF3/4 users NOT having this problem?Damian:Looks like you've got it nailed down Damian. I guess that means that if other card manufacturers are NOT experiencing the same problems there will likely be a lot of very disappointed nVidea users.Oh, woe is me. :-zhelp Ron McLeod CYEG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Damien - I can confirm ALL of the above for the GeForce4 TI4600. I originally used unregistered FSUIPC 3.00, then registered 3.00 and now registered 3.02. Have not d/l 3.03 yet.I've noticed that the flickers occur when clouds are loading but not with just overcast loading( if I've explained myself clearly ). It seems directly related to cloud cover and does NOT occur if clouds are set manually w/o running Wxre.I've run it minimized and normal - no difference.Also occurs during night flights IF there are clouds being loaded. HTH,Vic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vic,Are you saying that with wxRE loading an overcast layer the problem doesn't occur? And with clear skies everything is ok?-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0][tr][td align = "left"]Damian ClarkHiFi Simulation SoftwareDeveloper of ActiveSkyThe next-generation weather environment simulation for FS2002!http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky[/td][td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg][/td][/tr][/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr][/table

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct! For me, it only occurs when clouds, not overcast layers, are processed. No problem at all with clear skies. Sometimes the blinking is constant and can be stopped temporarily by cycling views. It's like the drawing of the clouds causes the panel to spasm.Someone on another board touted the omega drivers 4403 from www.omegacorner.com. I won't be able to try them until, hopefully, tonight but if there's any change, I'll let you know.Vic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest

I also see this and use a Nvidia TI4400. Just for your information I believe it has nothing to do with Activesky, I just recieved in my email today FSMeteo 6.0 and it also occurs with that program also. So it has something to with video driver and graphic setup of FS2004.Sean

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, but only as it relates to the two weather programs. Without the weather programs the problem does not occur therefore it the interaction between them that's the problem.Considering that fs9 runs fine w/o the weather add ons, don't think MS will be much help.Vic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest rds_mcleod

>Yes, but only as it relates to the two weather programs.>Without the weather programs the problem does not occur>therefore it the interaction between them that's the problem.>>Considering that fs9 runs fine w/o the weather add ons, don't>think MS will be much help.I can vouch for that. I just tested the same software and got the same result. No add-on WX and no flicker. Seems as simple as that which means we wait 'probably' for a fix from MS? P.S. - I did notice one procedure that was interesting. When I was in FSreen mode (which I think is where most people encounter the dancing screen), when I switched to the VC mode: no more flicker. Then back to the 2D screen, and still no flicker. That may have only been temporary, but that action did stop the flickering. However; and this is a big one... it may also prove to be a point where online WX was inactive, I don't reallly know. Doh *:-*Ron McLeod CYEG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also have had bad flickering with FS2004 when ActiveSky is running. My system has a Radeon 9800 (128Mb) card. I can't say that I noticed whether it was when the weather was updating or not. At the time, I only noticed that it was an intermittent problem. However, I also got it occasionally in the virtual cockpit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Marcelo

Same flickering with FSMETEO. Seems indeed to be happening as you fly and advance forward and the clouds are "drawn".My card is Geforce2- but from what I have been reading, it seems to happen to all (Nvidia) cards (any driver combination) and also any version of FSMETEO (5 or 6) and also with ActiveSky.Funny, the flickering does not happen with the MS Weather generator. Seems to only happen with these addons, such as FSMETEO and ActiveSky.Comments? Help? Fix?Regards, Marcelo Santiago, ChilePosted on Thursday July 31, 5:45pm EDT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This happened to me this morning flying KSTL-KATL, wondered what was going on... I have a GeForce 3.On that same flight I had another issue pop up - METAR indicated an overcast layer at 3000, but I definitely didn't see one. It was only very sparse stratus clouds below me.Ryan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,Please try making sure 3-d cloud % is set at 100% in FS display/weather settings.... let me know if this works..Thanks!-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0][tr][td align = "left"]Damian ClarkHiFi Simulation SoftwareDeveloper of ActiveSkyThe next-generation weather environment simulation for FS2002!http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky[/td][td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg][/td][/tr][/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr][/table

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Damian,>Interesting. Since no reports of ATI with this yet (ATI guys get a different problem), I am going to assume this is yet another video driver problem.http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>Hi Vic,>>Thanks for all the info...>>Here are the facts so far (anyone please help add/modify list>if you can):>>1) Happens with Nvidia Geforce 3 or 4 only>2) Only happens with wxRE running>3) Happens only in FS2004, not FS2002>4) Happens with FSUIPC 3.02 or 3.03>5) Driver changes do not help>6) Flickers occur during wxRE processing>>>Can someone confirm all these? Also, to all those having the>flicker problem.. are you using FSUIPC3 Registered or>Unregistered? Any NVIDIA GF3/4 users NOT having this problem?> THanks!>>-Damian[table border=0" cellspacing="30" cellpadding="0]>[tr][td align = "left"]Damian>Clark>HiFi Simulation Software>Developer of ActiveSky>The next-generation weather environment simulation for>FS2002!>http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky>[/td]>[td]http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/images/wxrebeta.jpg]>[/td]>[/tr]>[/table://http://hifi.avsim.net/activesky/ima...[/tr]>[/tableI can add to this with some corrections.I have this problem and I am running an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro video card, driver version 6.14.10.6343, with own registered FSUIPC 3.03 and FSMeteo V6.01.I don't think there is anything common other than the flickering and FS2004.Jim Mclean

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Damian, Yes confirm, problem of flickering occurs with condition reported, butI would like to inform you that same problem happen with FSMETEO whichuse the same module FSUIPC, version 3.02/03 new release for fs2004.I think it might be question of fsuipc. FS2002 works fine with bothActivesky and FsmeteoThanksRobertoBAW890AMD 2800+ BURTON1GB DDR366MHZGFORCE4 TI4600 128MB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...