Sign in to follow this  
Taipan

Directx 10

Hi All

Does Prepar3d work with directx 10 and the dx10 fixes as shown on the AVSIM forum?

Anyone here using it like that?

I'm currently running FSX in DX10 and fairly happy with it, but if I can get better performance out of P3D then I'm considering it.

Dont think it runs in dx10 from what I have read.

Rich Sennett

ok thanks.. I guess it would be too good to be true.

Anyone know a best guess on version 2 release?

I've been using P3D for several months exclusively, now. LM removed DX10 preview completely (for a good reason), no way. After careful tweaking and learning from others I get quite a bit of a performance boost compared to former FSX, with respect to pure fps as well as - even more - smoothness (i.e. lower variance). However, as I have given up FSX some time ago, I can hardly tell which percentage of the performance is P3D specific and which is due to recent tweaks.

To give you a number I get between 20 and 30 fps (30 locked internally) in the recently released FSDT CYVR, plus Vancouver 3+, plus ORBX PNW, which is quite heavy scenery altogether (but which, on the other hand, looks nothing but stunning). This is with nearly all sliders maxed (including Autogen + Buildings) and texture size set to 2046, fair weather (REX clouds), however water taken back to the second notch and bathymetry off, of course. 16xCSAA, 4xSGSS, 16x AF (Google for explanation) set in Nvidia Inspector. Quite a nice boost was setting VSync = 1/2 refresh rate. No BP=0 in the config, btw. For a good guide see Word Not Allowed's World:

Addons include Traffic 360 with modest ai settings (11 %), but myself only in a small C172 (I am too dumb to fly a 737.). This is on an i7-2600, 3,40 GHz, 16 MB RAM, Nvidia GTX 560 Ti under Win 7/64. I am quite content.

Version 2 of P3D is said to be expected in the beginning of 2014 and should support DX11, but I would not rely on this date. Most certainly, it will still be 32 bit, btw.