Sign in to follow this  

Hello all,

Historically I've always played Flight Simulator, and then P3D, on a Macbook Pro of some sort, simply because I did not have the money to buy both a work laptop and simming computer, and naturally work always won out when it came to priorities. However, I've gotten to a point where I really do want to invest in a simming computer. I intend it to run both P3D v4 as well as the DCS series.

I'm not a total novice when it comes to picking parts, and I have an idea of my budget as well as my particular needs. That said, given how finicky sims such as FS and P3D typically are, I wanted to run it down with you guys. Given my tight-ish budget, I'm opting for:

• CPU: i5 8600k, as it seems to be a better deal for the price.
  • GPU: either GTX 1060 or GTX 1070. I'd prefer the 1070, but the higher price tag makes me a little squeamish.

What are your thoughts on these particular parts for use with P3D and, if you have experience with it, DCS?

Thanks!

Benjamin van Soldt

Windows 10 64bit - i5-8600k @ 4.7GHz - ASRock Fatality K6 Z370 - EVGA GTX1070 SC 8GB VRAM - 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 3200MHz - Samsung 960 Evo SSD M.2 NVMe 500GB - 2x Samsung 860 Evo SSD 1TB (P3Dv4/5 drive) - Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM - Seasonic FocusPlus Gold 750W - Noctua DH-15S - Fractal Design Focus G (White) Case

I'm running an i5-8600K. I am currently OCing it to 4.8Ghz, and she runs FSX extremely well. I'm actually getting smooth, stutter free flights locked at 31 FPS at the moment (I have seen 150+ FPS in some instances when I set target frame rate to unlimited). Some areas in FSX, like between KLGA and KJFK still bring the FPS down to around 20, but that area is extremely packed with scenery and I have all of the sliders set to far right.