Sign in to follow this  

It's good to make new friends!

A few months ago I started attending some classes and after a while struck up some new friendships. Eventually we get around to asking our new acquaintances what they do for a living. One of my new friends casually say's "I'm a pilot". Now since I am a pilot myself I ask the question that probably most non aviation enthusiast would not ask; "What do you fly?" to which he relies "737".

After exhanging a couple of flying stories he extended me and a couple of other fellow enthusiast an invitation for a tour of one of the 737-800 he fly's when its in maintenance hanger.

Well having a busy schedule with work and family it been a couple of months since the invitation, but today was the day.

He took a couple of us and his nephew to what he had initially planned to be a detailed tour of a MAX 8 (he fly's those too) but given recent events they are keeping those under wraps.

He spend a hour and half walking us around the aircraft and points out everything of interest in great detail. And the pièce de résistance I go to spend about 15mins in the left seat. All the CDU's where fired up thanks to the maintenance guys hooking up ground power for our tour.

There was only one disappointment for me. The windows in the flight deck are only about half the height of the windows in the NGX. It ruined the immersion for me! I complained to friend about it and funnily enough he told me to get stuffed. That's the same answer you get from PMDG these days when you ask them about same issue.

Oh well, there is always the Zibo Mod! 😁:ph34r:

Edited by Guest

Did you complain or simply note a fact?  Usually when invited on a tour like that it is wise not to complain about the 'baby'...in this case his airplane.  

If invited to friend's house to see their new baby you don't say, "What a big nose he has."  That's a turnoff.  Just be polite and keep the criticisms to yourself.

Noel