Sign in to follow this  
D_Johnstone

Which of these PCs will run FSX:SE the best?

Hi,

I am new to the Avsim forums. I would like to install FSX:SE on one of the two following computers that I have spare.

Option 1: Toshiba Satellite L755-154 Laptop

CPU: Intel Core i5-2410M @ 2.3GHz

RAM: 6GB (Although I would be happy to upgrade this to the maximum supported RAM of 8GB)

GPU: Nvidia GeForce GT525M

Option 2: RM Expert 3030 Tower

CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz

RAM: 4GB (Again, I would be happy to upgrade this to the maximum supported RAM of 8GB)

GPU: None as of yet (currently it runs on graphics built into the motherboard), however I would possibly consider a budget HDMI-capable card to get me started

I am really struggling to decide which system would be the better option for running FSX:SE. I understand that both of the two options are now quite old models (Vista/7 era) and I have a limited budget so a new system is out of the question. What I would like to know is which of the two options would run FSX:SE the best. I run the following add-ons:

PMDG 737

PMDG 777

Majestic Dash-8 Q400

Aerosoft Airbus X Extended

UK2000 Birmingham and Bristol scenery

As mentioned in the specs above, I could probably stretch the budget to allow for a few minor upgrades to the systems.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Dominic

1 hour ago, DJohnstone said:

Option 1: Toshiba Satellite L755-154 Laptop

CPU: Intel Core i5-2410M @ 2.3GHz

RAM: 6GB (Although I would be happy to upgrade this to the maximum supported RAM of 8GB)

GPU: Nvidia GeForce GT525M

Dominic - Based solely on the choices you offer, Option 1 should be better.  A more modern CPU, a dedicated GPU, and faster RAM  position this option as the better choice.  The on-board graphics solution in Option 2 is a non-starter.