Sign in to follow this  
Guest Rick Baldwin

VC panning

Hi All!I think I asked this already some months ago. And I am really wondering no one else cares about it. Is it just me? I will never switch to FSX if there's not such a tool like active camera available for it. And I mean exactly what AC has to offer concerning panning in VC: With the mouse. No pre-assigned keys or whatever. Just with the mouse. Sure FSX is getting better with the add-ons every day - I really like it actually. But this doesnt help me, if there's not such thing like AC. I'm not a software engineer, so no idea what challenge it is to programm something like AC, but it seems to be a very difficult task.Keep on flying.Parkhardt

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Now, I just pan my head, but if you don't have a TrackIR... in the VC just press the spacebar and move the mouse to pan the VC. It's been there for over a year.Daniel

You can also create camera angles and assign them to specific keys. I haven't done this myself but maybe the SDK contains the how to's of this feature.

There's a utility called "Wheelcam" by Gunnar Daehling which is similar to Active Camera. The last time I looked at it, it was freeware for FSX, and there's a copy in the AVSIM library you can download. I also use TrackIR, so I haven't touched Wheelcam for a long time, and my info may be out of date.Jeff ShylukAssistant Managing EditorSenior Staff ReviewerAVSIM

Also, if you press the Shift+O key, it will keep mouse panning on. Press it again and it turns it off. (Assuming you are using default key assignments).But really, as many, many people here will attest, TrackIR is the way to go. It is awesome! Thomas[a href=http://www.flyingscool.com] http://www.flyingscool.com/images/Signature.jpg [/a]I like using VC's :-)N15802 KASH '73 Piper Cherokee Challenger 180