Sign in to follow this  
Gregg_Seipp

To RW pilots using Active Sky

Hey guys,

I noticed that Active Sky has 'realistic up and down drafts'...something I think is sorely missing (or poorly implemented) in FSX. I remember being kicked around quite a bit by those things in the little airplanes I flew...a sudden rise of a wing...gradual gain or loss of altitude under a cloud...bumps...all that stuff. For you real world pilots using Active Sky, what do you think of it? Realistic?

Gregg Seipp

"A good landing is when you can walk away from the airplane.  A great landing is when you can reuse it."
i7-8700 32GB Ram, GTX-1070 8 Gig RAM

Personally, although I was initially pleased to see the feature, since I am a keen glider pilot, in practice I found it a bit too much of a faff to set it up, and also somewhat self-defeating to do so. What I would have liked to see it doing, was implementing thermals automatically based on an algorithm which read the cloud cover, sunlight and basic terrain (land class) type (as Silent Wings does), and then plonking thermal source points upwind of the cumulus based on cloud base or inversion layer altitude and the wind speed, since that is what happens in real life.

After all, part of the skill and fun of gliding, is actually using your knowledge of how, why and where thermals pop by reading the signs in the sky and on the ground, in order to make use of them, so actually setting them up removes that aspect of it from the scenario to a large degree, because you literally already know where they are, and that's no fun.