Sign in to follow this  
Futurepilot10

Building a high performance FSX rig

Hi AVSIM community,

I'm planning to build my first FSX rig. I'm a first timer PC builder.

I'm going for the following:

* CPU: i7-3770K (overclocked as stable as possible)

* Mother Board: Asus P8Z77 (here is where I need help, I see so many different models, I was thinking to use the P8Z77-V Deluxe - $284.99 Microcenter - but I also see the P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Z77 ATX Intel - $204.99 Microcenter -, could you please try to help me understand the difference?, I plan to hardwire the internet cable directly to the PC, so I really don't need WIFI.

* RAM: Corsair Dominator GT series 8GB (4GB x 2), DDR3, 2133 MHz, CL 9

* GPU: EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 SC, 2 GB

* SSD: Samsung 830 Series 256GB MZ-7PC256D/AM (For both Windows 7 and FSX + some Add-Ons)

* Hard Drive: WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB (For personal files)

* PSU: Corsair 1200 Watt 80 plus Gold

* CPU Cooling System: Corsair Hydro H100

* Case: Cooler Master RC-932-KKN5-GP HAF 932 Advance Full Tower Case (Not firm desicion yet)

Please let me know what do you think... If I should consider changing/adding a/some component (s) please let me know your specific recommendation.

Thank you VERY much!!!

* Mother Board: Asus P8Z77 (here is where I need help, I see so many different models, I was thinking to use the P8Z77-V Deluxe - $284.99 Microcenter - but I also see the P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Z77 ATX Intel - $204.99 Microcenter -, could you please try to help me understand the difference?, I plan to hardwire the internet cable directly to the PC, so I really don't need WIFI.

Unless you need the nearly useless extra features on the Deluxe version, stick with the standard P8Z77-V Motherboard.

* PSU: Corsair 1200 Watt 80 plus Gold

The Corsair AX750 would be a much better bang for buck. 1200 watts is total overkill. Your system at max load would never pull anymore than 550Watts....