Sign in to follow this  
ddswh1pk0s

Fastest Cruising Altitude

Hello simmers,

I have been thinking this for a while now and I was not able to work it out. It might be blindingly obvious but I am not sure.

My question is what altitude should a jet fly at to give the highest true airspeed (TAS). Because I have noticed that the higher I fly I actually fly slower but I am saving fuel.

I think this will be useful for when I am planning a flight that I want to complete a bit quicker than usual.

Thank you for your help.

I am no expert in this matter at all, but as far as I am aware, there is no such altitude. It will always be a compromise that depends on the aircraft, its weight and its climb performance.

Also, and that is an important thing to keep in mind, the more significant speed is perhaps ground speed (GS), not TAS. Ground speed will in fact increase with increasing altitude, and that means that the higher you are the faster you can reach your destination, so you're actually looking for the highest altitude your aircraft can reach.

I'm not a real pilot, just a sim pilot, but I do agree that ground speed is of greater importance than TAS.  Aircraft specifications from their manufacturer will often include altitudes at which fastest and most economical cruises can be obtained.  This is important information, but you must also consider the weather.  Your aircraft may fly the fastest at 30,000 ft MSL, but if you must fly into a strong headwind at 30,000 ft and there is far less of a headwind at 20,000 ft, then your fastest cruise on that trip may be at 20,000 ft.

My computer: ABS Gladiator Gaming PC featuring an Intel 10700F CPU, EVGA CLC-240 AIO cooler (dead fans replaced with Noctua fans), Asus Tuf Gaming B460M Plus motherboard, 16GB DDR4-3000 RAM, 1 TB NVMe SSD, EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 video card, dead EVGA 750 watt power supply replaced with Antec 900 watt PSU.