NeilC

Steeper descent profile

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new to the DC-6 (having cut my teeth on the MD-83 for the past 15 years).

I am quite familiar with constant speed props, but am really struggling to get the DC6 to descend.  I have read that you need to plan well ahead and start descent early, but I am having real problems slowing down.  When using the AFE, having completed the inrange checks, you need to slow down far enough to be able to drop the flaps as part of the final check.  I have also read elsewhere that you shouldn't go below a BMEP of 80 (and of course you should avoid the props driving the engine at all times), but at the lowest possible settings in level flight, the speed bleeds off so slowly.

Most of my flying is around the mountains of Austria and Switzerland and I am finding it impossible to fly certain approaches, as I just can't lose the height necessary.  I know that the DC6 wasn't built with steep approaches in mind, but they have operated into airports such as LOWI, so it must be possible.

Also, on final (inside the inner marker 4/DME) is it permissible to go below 80 BMEP?

Sorry for all these questions, I am loving the DC6, and would like to do it right.

Neil 

6 hours ago, NeilC said:

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new to the DC-6 (having cut my teeth on the MD-83 for the past 15 years).

I am quite familiar with constant speed props, but am really struggling to get the DC6 to descend.  I have read that you need to plan well ahead and start descent early, but I am having real problems slowing down.  When using the AFE, having completed the inrange checks, you need to slow down far enough to be able to drop the flaps as part of the final check.  I have also read elsewhere that you shouldn't go below a BMEP of 80 (and of course you should avoid the props driving the engine at all times), but at the lowest possible settings in level flight, the speed bleeds off so slowly.