Bnash00

Windows 10 1803 or Greater No Screensaver

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone else out there has experienced an issue with Windows 10 1803 or greater where if they have any type of joystick or game pad plugged into their computer the screensaver will not start. This issue first started with Windows 10 1803. This last weekend I nuked my entire computer and upgraded to Windows 10 1809 and installed Prepar3D v4.4 and all my addons. However I still cannot get the screensaver to start. If I unplug my joystick, rudder pedals, and gamepad the screensaver starts no problem. As soon as I plug them back in, no more screensaver. I just never starts after the allotted time period.

I have a Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog joystick and throttle, Saitek rudder pedals and I also occasionally use an Xbox 360 game pad for PC. If any one of these devices are plugged in no screensaver. So far I have only found two solutions to this problem. 

1. Unplug all my devices after I'm done flying.

2. Roll back to Windows 10 1709. However this is no good because Windows 10 is so aggressive about automatically updating itself to the latest version. Windows 10 as a service has really worked well for Microsoft. Especially with the train wreck that is the Windows 10 1809 update. (I'm sure you all have read about the deleting of users documents, and the zip handling issues, and the Windows Media Player playback bar issue, and the Intel drivers issues ect... ect..)

Anyways I was just wondering if I'm the only guy experiencing this issue or if its more widespread.

Here is a breakdown of my hardware configuration in case it helps:

Intel Core i7 4960X @4.7GHz

Asus x79-Deluxe motherboard

16GB DDR3 RAM

Nvidia Titan X (Maxwell)

Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog joystick and throttle

Saitek rudder pedals

xbox 360 game pad for PC