Sign in to follow this  
Guest JohnEGPF

Interesting FSX observations

I will start this post off with some facts.I have been flight simming since I started owning personal computers since 1990. I have been building my own hardware for the last 10 years. I know the technology and what makes it work. I have been artistically and creatively involved with Flight simulator and several other popular combat flight simulators for a good bit of the last 5-7 years. When ANY flight or combat flight related sim has been released, there have been problems. Both hardware and software related. As far as I can recall, most of the time, the cutting edge system users have good experiences and overall are satisfied with what they see. I am not sensing this with FSX. It's not a good sign. I am noting a different tone with the release of FXS. We always have the whiners. We always get the revelations about real world system requirements versus whats on the box. We always have the folks who find the magical "fix" to whatever new problem has arisen due to new versions. I see all of that here and at a few other forums which I read. What I note that is different now, is the dearth of threads that say "all is well", "we have reached a new nirvana", "I am ecstatic". I see very limited and tepid reviews where performance is mentioned. I'm not 100% sure at this point, but by first responder accounts, it's appearing as if MS may have laid an egg with this one. I have a fast machine, not the latest and greatest, but it's run EVERYTHING I have thrown at it very well. It ran the beta 3(I am a beta tester) version of this new software acceptably with default settings prior to final release code. I have access to the release code but have not run it yet. What I see is that for us here, the limited few who exploit the sim as a BASIS for greater things, its not going to be tenable or viable until we make a rather big leap in technology. Having the sim run with NO autogen, and limited texture resolution