Sign in to follow this  
Guest adam_uk_wmids

FSX ground performance issues

Guest adam_uk_wmids

Hi folks!I have been simming since FS2002 and have, this christmas taken the plunge from FS9 to FSX. Having installed FSX eagerly onto my system, I immediately realised my original set-up which was top-end in about 2004, just wasn't going to cope. So I then set about upgrading my system. I now have what I would consider a good spec of machine - certainly considering FSX was written upto 2006 specs... (I concede that may be they wrote it with future developments in mind...)However, I have found that with the settings set to the default Ultra high presets, I have problems. My hardware set-up is as follows:ASUS P6T Delux Motherboard with Intel i7 920, Socket 1366 (:(, 2.66GHz, Cache 8MB (4 cores with additional 4 virtual cores) and 6GB RAM (although only 3.something recognised due to XP Pro 32bit edition), FSX installed on seperate standard harddisk, 1GB NVidia GTX 280 OC2, PCI-E 2.0(x16), 2326MHz GDDR3, GPU 650MHz, 240 Cores graphics card.The default MS planes work fine. My add-ons (Currently just played with Wilco pub legacy jet, CLS VLJ, and CLS DC-10 collection) all share a common issue. Durring time on the ground, they all do the same thing. Not necessarily immediately upon loading, but at some point during the start-up (from cold and dark) they start to affect the running of the sim. I get the sim freezing then unfreezing, almost on an On-Off-On-Off-On-Off or more accurately Stop - start - stop - start. During this time, my mouse will move unimpeded around the screen smoothly, but the cursor does not change as you would expect (e.g. to a hand when something can be clicked) and clicking has no effect during the 'stop' periods, only during the start periods. This on/off or stop/start cycle sems to be about 3 seconds on, 3 seconds off repeatedly. This indicated to me that ist was an FS rather than OS issue, since I don't experience this in any other applicaton, and the