Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

EGLL77W

PMDG Terrain radar with ORBX FTX Global

Would anything they've done to develop FTX Global cause any issues with using the Terrain radar in the NGX and (soon) 777?

Cheers,

Luke

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Shouldn't they're just textures. It would be like how many of us use GEX now.

I am no expert, but I guess FTX Global will do no harm to the terrain awareness... since 1. FTX Global isn't about mesh, but rather about textures and maybe a bit of landclass and 2. the terrain awareness relies on PMDG's database, which is "independent" from FSX...

Gents-

We have no idea what you are talking about because there is no terrain radar...

(Are you talking about terrain awareness?  Yeah.... thats done using data, not radar... radar is unfeasible because you'd have huge blank spots behind any rising terrain.  LOL)

But to answer the actual question:  No.

I'm sure you're aware there's no mesh in FTX Global. But I see why you might be asking. Maybe there's extra tall autogen added that would not be visible in the terrain radar database? Unless its REALLY tall I don't think we need to worry about it. If it was a real problem I think orbx would have mentioned it. You should have collisions turned off anyway. I don't think you can hit autogen with it turned off

Gents-

(Are you talking about terrain awareness?  Yeah.... thats done using data, not radar... radar is unfeasible because you'd have huge blank spots behind any rising terrain.  LOL)

But to answer the actual question:  No.

:Whistle:

Awesome to hear lads - thank you all  ^_^

Radar/Database..... same thing..... right..........  :Monkey:

Maybe you'll realise the physiological effects of your glorious 777 torture!! :blink:  :rolleyes: