Sign in to follow this  
steveteva

FTX Global cartoonish looking?

I'm new to SIM so I was looking for an upgrade scenery and waht most members recommend was FTX global or GEX, but looks like FTX was more popular. 

So I've visit ORBX forum and checked screenshot from members topic, I was then surprise to see high detailed pictures but wasn't realistic looking it was like cartoonish looking or someone that take a real picture then apply a paint filter to it in Photoshop. Is it just me or it's because I'm used to real scenery when flying?

I also found someone in the forum talking about rendered scenery like GEX and FTX global vs photo real scenery like megascenery earth and fsgenesis and that might be the reason it's not real looking scenery.

The cons with photo real were FPS and nice only in high altitude, is that right?

Can you FSX expert open my eyes and guide me on what to buy? I need  something realistic when I fly with an aircraft and look outside.

I'm still confuse and want to buy rather FTX global for around $99 or Fsgenesis for peanuts or Megascenery Earth 2.0 complete state California for $99 but will need to spend for everytime I need a state or region or maybe ultimate terrain X?

Thank you.

Sorry for this newbie question.

What can I tell you except that I can't imagine FSX world without FTX Global. Amazing photorealistic textures, that's for sure. I can't wait the moment to see OpenLC Europe purchase button and to enjoy Europe in a complete and full glory with FTXG Vector. I saw numerous screens with GEX and it's simple is not nearly as good in Europe as FTX Global. GEX is good mostly for USA, but I didn't compare the two, so I'm not competitive to comment.

Current system: ASUS PRIME Z690-P D4, Intel 12900k, 32GB RAM @ 3600mhz, Zotac RTX 3090 Trinity, M2 SSD, Oculus Quest 2.