Sign in to follow this  
pouts

777 autothrottle unable to maintain speed during approach

Hi all,

I'm having a problem while flying the 772 during descents and approaches. I can see that the autothrottle cannot accurately maintain speed, even in very low wind conditions.

During initial descent everything is fine. I usually lower the gear at the FAF and complete the landing checklist. Once I get the flaps to 25 or 30, speed usually at VREF+5, the aircraft cannot maintain it. Suppose we have a Vref of 138kts, I will see the speed drop to 132, when the power will get increased significantly and the aircraft will accelerate to 150+ knots and then back to idle, speed dropping rapidly again. Approaches get really difficult with this behaviour.

Even though I am not new in the FS world at all, I am rather new in the PMDG cockpit so, experts, am I doing something wrong here???

Many thanks

Michael.

Even though I am not new in the FS world at all, I am rather new in the PMDG cockpit so, experts, am I doing something wrong here???

How stable is your approach? Remember that, when using A/T and hand flying, the A/T is reacting to your actions. It can't predict them as if it could when it's fully in control.

Does this happen if you autoland?

Kyle Rodgers

Like Kyle said, how is your pitch if hand flying with AT on?

@Kyle

About time for a new you tube vid slacker :P  :smile:

David Murden  MSFS   Fenix A320  PMDG 737 • MG Honda Jet • 414 / TDS 750Xi •  FS-ATC Chatter • FlyingIron Spitfire & ME109G • MG Honda Jet 

Fenix A320 Walkthrough PDF   Flightsim.to •

DCS  A10c II  F-16c  F/A-18c • F-14 • (Others in hanger) • Supercarrier  Terrains = • Nevada NTTR  Persian Gulf  Syria • Marianas • 

• 10900K@4.9 All Cores HT ON   32GB DDR4  3200MHz RTX 3080  • TM Warthog HOTAS • TM TPR • Corsair Virtuoso XT with Dolby Atmos®  Samsung G7 32" 1440p 240Hz • TrackIR 5 & ProClip

@Kyle
About time for a new you tube vid slacker