Sign in to follow this  
Malafor

Terrain Package Options

Hi am thinking about buying Orbx Globle Base and Vector to enhance my FSX-SE .
I wanted to ask other players opinion on there views with this package.
Is there any other packs which you would consider better value for money as the Orbx is not cheap.
Also what freeware packages would you recommend.
As it stands i have....
Rex Soft Clouds
REX Texture Direct 4
Active Sky Next
Ezdok

Basicaly i want to improve my game's over all visual appearance and as i am new to this sim and i would appreciate some of your opinion's.

Thanks

as the Orbx is not cheap.

It is cheap compared to its closest competitor, which is GEX.  I don't recall the exact number, but I once calculated that GEX would cost 2 to 2 1/2 times what FTX Global does and with that, I'm not sure if GEX covers all of the areas that FTX does.

The same situation exists with FTX Vector and UTX, its closest competitor.  However, UTX (IMHO) is a superior product, so the cost is justified.  However, UTX does not cover all of the areas that FTX Vector does, so that is another consideration

I'm not pushing any product, just stating the financial reality.   As for which you decide to go with.. You'll have to weigh perceived quality vs total cost.

Of course, if you're willing to wait, ORBX usually has a sale around Christmas and sometimes once during the year.

Ernie

Ernest Pergrem

It would depend on the type of flying (GA-low altitude or Commercial tubes at high altitude) and the area you

like to fly in.  ORBX is fantastic for GA flying and probably Photo-Real for higher altitudes.  I use

BlueSky scenery for most of my tube-type flying.  Try some of the free offerings from ORBX.

Charlie Aron

Awaiting the new Microsoft Flight Sim and the purchase of a new system.  Running a Chromebook for now! :cool:

Global + Vector works if you fly airliners great distances or you like flying in different regions each flight.