Sign in to follow this  
ShezA

FMC altitude error P3DV3

So I am not a newbie to the FMC world having a few other payware aircraft which I am very familiar with.

1. I am following the Tutorial 1 to the letter on the flight KLAX-KLAS. Route is OSHNN6 DAG KEPEC3 FL270.
  2. I fill in the fuel (short flight) and payload
  3. I fill in the flight plan
  4. I fill in the perf init page as directed, cost index 85, FL270
  5. Activate
  6. I get an insufficient fuel warning and an unable next wpt and an unable crz alt warning
  7. I check the LEGS page and get some strange altitudes for the waypoints like 1233ft, 2343ft and so on to a max of 4320ft halfway to KLAS

Obviously with the climb profile in point 7 above at such a low calculated altitiude the FMC will determine I don't have enough fuel because I am burning it up...

What am I doing wrong?

Shehryar Ansari

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I am following the Tutorial 1 to the letter on the flight KLAX-KLAS.

What Tutorial 1 are you referring to? Our Tutorial 1 is a flight into Dubai...

Yes correct but I am following the same procedures other than the route.

Shehryar

Probably an issue with how your flight plan is entered, then.

What model of the T7 are you using and what is your payload?

The model is the PMDG livery B777LR and the payload is random but the ZFW is around 400K lbs. I use fuel around 58K lbs.

As regards the cost index, could this value be impacting the climb rates? I tried the LOOP8 SID there are altitude restrictions on the climb out and the KEPEC3 has altitude restrictions from FL240 down to 8000. The FMC legs route shows a very low altitude for the initial waypoints then a jump to the hard altitude restriction at LAX of 10000 then a drop to low altitudes again. Could it be that the cost index of 85 might not be allowing the aircraft to climb at a good rate? Or maybe there is some other setting which I may have which is not allowing the climb to cruise.

Shehryar