Sign in to follow this  
louis8m

Manual flying the 777-200

I've been flying this bird for maybe 6 months or so and every thing always went to plan --disconnect the auto about 1,000 feet on final take the rest in by hand and all is good . Then one day i had to do a miss so decided to do it by hand and that's  when i found out real quik  that this is a different bird and if you don't  have your  yoke nailed down to the desk with 6 inch spikes , pushing and pulling  isn't gonna do any good at all. Searching and reading the introduction from PMDG there's a real heavy topic on how much work went in to this to get it right, then i watched a Froogle video to learn some more . So i decided to do some circuits around Calgary to get the feel of this fly by wire , and i'm a long way from getting the full hang of it .   

Louis Massicotte ----Alberta 

How hard did you pull on the yoke in the first place. I've flown at least two missed approaches in the Boeing 747-400 and never had the issue of the yoke coming off the desk.

Captain Kevin

nGsKmfi.jpg

Air Kevin 124 heavy, wind calm, runway 4 left, cleared for take-off.

Live streams of my flights here.

The FBW on the 777 never felt quite right to me.  Its supposed to autotrim in a turn so you dont need back pressure but it doesnt seem to do that at all.  

• Upvote 1

Lian Li 011 Air Mini | AMD 7950X3D | Asus ROG STRIX B650E-F | Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm RGB | 2x32GB G.Skill DDR5-6000 | ASUS TUF RTX 4090 | Seasonic Prime Platinum 1000W | Varjo Aero