Sign in to follow this  
OPS1

Simple Question: Is the 757 still an efficient aircraft?

Im currently studying aviation operations, at an aviation academy. In one of my units i need to describe a social and leisure purpose aircraft. Ive picked to do the 757 over the 737, as the 757 is more interesting. In the unit is asks the efficiency of the aircraft. So in todays world, is the 757 still an efficient aircraft. Im talking; is it still profitible for airlines, is it still popular? As it can seat more passengers than a typical NG 737, fly further and faster than a typical NG 737. Therefore would the 757 be more profitable than the 737 (NG) as it peforms as a bigger aircraft, but is used on the same routes as the 737 such as domestic and short haul. I know airlines are adding winglets to them, however all i want to know is this aircraft still efficient in todays world, with rising taxes and rising fuel prices?

The 757 has it's own nitch. It's a hybrid between a heavy and a small jetliner depending on it's role. It's capable of operating at smaller airfields that comparable aircraft of it's size can not. It's a hard aircraft to replace hence nothing is out there that's taking it's place. It can climb as efficiently as the A320 series and has fuel efficiency comparable to the 737NG. Speaking of the 737NG, it's pretty fuel efficient in it's current incarnation. In short the 757 is vary efficient for airliners to operate. FedEx has just added it to it's fleet. The 757 is a well made aircraft in a class of it's own.

FS2020 

Alienware Aurora R11 10th Gen Intel Core i7 10700F - Windows 11 Home 32GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Ti 16GB DLSS 3 - HP Reverb G2